Author Topic: Modular Design using Dynamically Linked Libraries  (Read 1984 times)

Archaos90

The night approaches dawn as I write this here in Sweden and I have been sketching, planning and thinking for a project I am about to start. As with all things it needs a name - and as imaginationless I am - I named it 'M' because it just happens to be the initial letter for so many words that best describes the project: Modular, Media player, kind-of Middleware, Marvelous etc etc.. although NOT Malware if you came to think of that ;)

Enough with the joking. I am studying - on my free time - the concept of modular design. I quickly came to think of Forth and thought: "Hell yeah, why not create a completely modular program that could be anything by using a lot of different DLL's?". I quickly sat down with my ancient Bloodshed Dev-C++ (don't ask why I am still using that compiler. I am just accustomed to it and I refuse to break this (bad) habit to use it) and after a few hours I had developed a (crude) module loader and handler. After a little experimenting I came to realize - to my horror - that while I am using DLL's I am also f*cking with threads. Threading is something I have NO experience of.