Author Topic: Regarding .cue and .flac  (Read 7482 times)

Elrinth

  • Posts: 130
Regarding .cue and .flac
« on: 6 Jan '10 - 19:38 »
Hi!

So I've got this album in .cue and .flac format.. However. XMPLAY won't open the .cue alone.
It's named with japanese characters, might this break stuff?

Like so:曼衍珠汝華 ~ Nada Upasana Pundarika.cue
and in the cue-file (which is utf8 encoded) it calls for the flac like so:
TITLE "曼衍珠汝華 ~ Nada Upasana Pundarika"
FILE "曼衍珠汝華 ~ Nada Upasana Pundarika.flac" WAVE

I gave it a try by creating my own .cue
and named the file to play as test.flac
"
REM GENRE Touhou arrange
REM DATE 30.12.2009
REM DISCID 650AF709
REM COMMENT DECD-0006
PERFORMER "Demetori"
TITLE "test"
FILE "test.flac" WAVE
  TRACK 01 AUDIO
    TITLE "bla bla"
    PERFORMER "Demetori"
    INDEX 01 00:00:00
  TRACK 02 AUDIO
    TITLE "hehehe"
    PERFORMER "Demetori"
    INDEX 01 05:18:52
"

following would not open in xmplay.

According to: http://support.xmplay.com/article.php?id=20#cuesheet xmplay should be able to rock the socks outta cue / flac. Maybe I missed installing something? I can play the flac as it is but I can't load the .cue.

I'm using 3.4.2.148 of xmplay

...

after further playing... not sure about this tho. it doesn't actually divide the song into multiple songs when loading from the cue, it only grabs the song titles from the cue file when a new song is switched to on a certain time. Is this correct? I'll have to manually create an m3u or pls for this?
« Last Edit: 6 Jan '10 - 21:50 by Elrinth »

Dotpitch

  • Posts: 2871
Re: Regarding .cue and .flac
« Reply #1 on: 7 Jan '10 - 10:06 »
So I've got this album in .cue and .flac format.. However. XMPLAY won't open the .cue alone.
XMPlay will automatically load and use the corresponding cue file if you load the flac file. You can't load the cue file on itself.
after further playing... not sure about this tho. it doesn't actually divide the song into multiple songs when loading from the cue, it only grabs the song titles from the cue file when a new song is switched to on a certain time. Is this correct? I'll have to manually create an m3u or pls for this?
That's how it's supposed to work. Currently, you can view the cue entries in the info window and skip to subtracks by right-clicking the Previous/Next-buttons. XMPlay does not create different playlist entries based on the cue file (though that has been suggested a couple of times).

Elrinth

  • Posts: 130
Re: Regarding .cue and .flac
« Reply #2 on: 8 Jan '10 - 18:54 »
so it's been suggested several times, how come it's not changed then?

Dotpitch

  • Posts: 2871
Re: Regarding .cue and .flac
« Reply #3 on: 8 Jan '10 - 21:37 »
so it's been suggested several times, how come it's not changed then?
Because the development of closed-source freeware is usually not a democratic process. Implementing virtual tracks requires a rewrite of the playlist system, and probably of the playback system as well (to make seeking accurate for all files), so Ian is probably hesitant to do it. In the mean time, you can split the tracks using a CUE splitter.

amit

  • Posts: 723
Re: Regarding .cue and .flac
« Reply #4 on: 8 Jan '10 - 22:13 »
so it's been suggested several times, how come it's not changed then?

I would suggest searching the forum first.

In the mean time, you can split the tracks using a CUE splitter.

Cuetools

Elrinth

  • Posts: 130
Re: Regarding .cue and .flac
« Reply #5 on: 9 Jan '10 - 06:24 »
Thanx.. I'll try cuetools forums. (can't get the program to run properly)

amit

  • Posts: 723
Re: Regarding .cue and .flac
« Reply #6 on: 9 Jan '10 - 10:40 »
Thanx.. I'll try cuetools forums. (can't get the program to run properly)
You need .NET Framework 2.0 (SP2) and Visual C++ 2005 SP1 runtime files installed.

r

  • Posts: 188
Re: Regarding .cue and .flac
« Reply #7 on: 11 Jan '10 - 18:57 »
Try CUE Splitter if you don't have .NET:
http://www.medieval.it/content/view/28/70/

Zarggg

  • Posts: 1242
Re: Regarding .cue and .flac
« Reply #8 on: 12 Jan '10 - 06:31 »
+1 on CUE Splitter. That's what I used to use.

r

  • Posts: 188
Re: Regarding .cue and .flac
« Reply #9 on: 12 Jan '10 - 18:54 »
Just as another option, you can also use foobar2000 as well.

Zarggg

  • Posts: 1242
Re: Regarding .cue and .flac
« Reply #10 on: 18 Jan '10 - 16:13 »
Yes, that's what I use primarily now, but it's generally bad form to recommend a competing program on a certain software's forum. ;)