Author Topic: getting started with live effects (iPhone)  (Read 8413 times)

arlomedia

getting started with live effects (iPhone)
« on: 14 Jan '10 - 20:50 »
Hi folks,

I'm just getting started using BASS for an iPhone application that will add effects to real-time input and send it straight to the output (no file reading or saving). I already have a Remote I/O audio unit (aurio) set up that reads audio input and sends it to output. I was hoping to just hook into that data and process it as it comes through. Can I do this with BASS, or will I have to rework the application to use BASS's input and/or output?

If the latter, do you know of any sample code for something like this? I saw a reference to a "LIVEFX" sample on this forum, but the post was two years old and I don't see that in the code download now. Otherwise I'm trying to pull bits of the livespec, rectest and fxtest sample projects.

Thanks,
-Arlo
« Last Edit: 16 Jan '10 - 18:02 by arlomedia »

arlomedia

Re: getting started with live effects
« Reply #1 on: 14 Jan '10 - 21:22 »
Okay, I just found the livefx sample in the Windows download ... it's not included in the Mac download I was looking at earlier.

I'm still curious whether I can/should use the Mac's Audio Units for I/O, or whether I should just use BASS for the whole thing? I'll try to get livefx up and running in the meantime.

Ian @ un4seen

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: 15 Jan '10 - 14:38 »
It would probably be simpler to have BASS handle the input and output (eg. as in the LIVEFX example), but if you have already implemented that yourself, then you could keep that code and just have BASS apply the FX to it. That can be done with a "dummy" stream. The BASS calls could look something like this...

Code: [Select]
BASS_Init(0, 44100, 0, NULL, NULL); // initalize "no sound" device

fxstream=BASS_StreamCreate(44100, 2, BASS_STREAM_DECODE, STREAMPROC_DUMMY, NULL); // create dummy stream (adjust sample format to match data)