Author Topic: Streaming encoder with 2 sound cards  (Read 2725 times)

Laura27

Streaming encoder with 2 sound cards
« on: 6 Aug '10 - 14:41 »
Hi,  :)

Sorry if I'm a newbie.
I'm looking to develop a small shoutcast encoder for my radio station.
I'm using demo CAST program and it works great (I'm developing using Visaul Basic 6).

I've implemented ACCplus and it works.

My need is this: the encoder is on a pc with two sound cards and in some moments I need to change the input sound card for the encoder.
The are sono hours of the day that I have to stream the audio from audio card1 , and other part of the day I have to stream the audio coming from the second card.

I've see some examples but it's not clear to me how to change the audio card for the encoder.
I know this is a generic question, but any help will be very appreciated.

Thanks and sorry for my poor English.

Laura

Ian @ un4seen

• Administrator
Re: Streaming encoder with 2 sound cards
« Reply #1 on: 6 Aug '10 - 15:48 »
An encoder can be moved from one BASS channel to another with the BASS_Encode_SetChannel function. In your case, when you want to switch devices, you would create a recording channel on the new device and then move the encoder to it (and then free the old recording channel).

Laura27

« Reply #2 on: 6 Aug '10 - 16:45 »
Ian,

thanks for your quick answer.
May I create the record channel on both devices at the startup (load form in vb) and then move the encoder or I must create the new and free the old channel everytime I move the encoder?
During the weekend I'll try to implement your solution.

Laura

Ian @ un4seen

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: 6 Aug '10 - 17:31 »
Yes, pre-creating both of the recording channels and moving the encoder between them should be fine too. There will always be 1 unnecessary recording channel that way though, so it is a bit inefficient, but it shouldn't be too much so :)

Laura27

« Reply #4 on: 7 Aug '10 - 15:29 »
Hi Ian,

I'm working over my encoder.