Author Topic: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs  (Read 171576 times)

Dotpitch

  • Posts: 2829
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #50 on: 7 Jan '11 - 17:17 »
Just associated XMPlay with MP3 files, 'Play all' starts WMP. Associated XMPlay with M3U as well, 'Play all' then loads the mp3s and the m3u in a single XMPlay (or the current one, if available). I can't reproduce amits problem, XMPlay keeps running smoothly here (Win7 x64 with Aero).

Helge

  • Posts: 13
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #51 on: 8 Jan '11 - 18:33 »
Disabling Info bubbles (Options -> Appearance) seems to be ignored in 3.6.

I'm running XMPlay through wine on Ubuntu. The bubbles remove focus from whatever window I'm working in when they appear, so I need the ability to disable them.

Disabling them in XMPlay 3.5.1 works fine.

saga

  • Posts: 1986
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #52 on: 8 Jan '11 - 18:47 »
In Win7 they are not shown, so this sounds like yet another problem with Wine.

dbozan99

  • Posts: 3
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #53 on: 10 Jan '11 - 00:30 »
Hi, I Just found XMPlay the other day. I absolutely love it! I will never be forced to use that bloated winamp again! Hooray! (And All of my favorite plug-ins work too! Double Yay!)
All It needed was a new skin. (The default was a little overwhelming at first....)

Anyway, the real reason I made an account here was to tell you of the problems I've been having. I'm using Windows 7 Pro x64 by the way.

The Issue of extreme sluggishness is present on my machine too. Just OPENING the program instantly latches on to 25% of my cpu, but whatever it's trying to do makes it seem more like 110% because everything else is practically unresponsive... Everything in XMPlay seems to be fine though...But I would like to listen to music AND work/play ;)

Just closing XMPlay doesn't close completely either! It makes it even slower (the "System" entry in the task manager flies up to 25% as well as xmplay!) and I have to manually end the process every time.

I haven't tried an older build yet, but I will later to see if the problem goes away...

I'll Attach a dxdiag and stuff below if it helps...

Pike84

  • Posts: 1398
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #54 on: 10 Jan '11 - 01:25 »
This sounds a lot like the problem amit was/is having, with the same OS too.

Just a thought: have either of you tried any compatibility modes, just in case it might help? Not that XMPlay should need any, especially since the previous version works, according to amit ::).

dbozan99

  • Posts: 3
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #55 on: 10 Jan '11 - 04:44 »
I tried several, nothing helped. (Win95 practically crashed the comp...)

Dotpitch

  • Posts: 2829
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #56 on: 10 Jan '11 - 07:54 »
I haven't tried an older build yet, but I will later to see if the problem goes away...
You can get 3.5.1 (the previous stable release) from the XMPlay Archive.

The Issue of extreme sluggishness is present on my machine too. Just OPENING the program instantly latches on to 25% of my cpu, but whatever it's trying to do makes it seem more like 110% because everything else is practically unresponsive... Everything in XMPlay seems to be fine though...But I would like to listen to music AND work/play ;)
Could you give some details about your OS configuration? Do you run it with Aero, of with all theme services off like amit? After closing XMPlay, what thread of the System process is taking the CPU time? (You can use Process Explorer, double-click the System process and go to the Threads-tab.)
amit, do you happen to run Windows 7 Professional as well, or a different one? I've got Home Premium, btw.
« Last Edit: 10 Jan '11 - 07:57 by Dotpitch »

Cris

  • Posts: 231
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #57 on: 10 Jan '11 - 08:29 »
(You can use Process Explorer, double-click the System process and go to the Threads-tab.)

I was just about to suggest the same thing. :)

However, I'd suggest starting ProcessExplorer and opening the Threads tab (for the System process) before actually starting XMPlay. Because enumerating the System threads (and all their details) is quite a complex process, and if after opening XMPlay there are performance problems, opening ProcessExplorer and then listing the System threads could take ages. :)

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 18982
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #58 on: 10 Jan '11 - 16:17 »
The Issue of extreme sluggishness is present on my machine too. Just OPENING the program instantly latches on to 25% of my cpu, but whatever it's trying to do makes it seem more like 110% because everything else is practically unresponsive... Everything in XMPlay seems to be fine though...But I would like to listen to music AND work/play ;)

Just closing XMPlay doesn't close completely either! It makes it even slower (the "System" entry in the task manager flies up to 25% as well as xmplay!) and I have to manually end the process every time.

I haven't tried an older build yet, but I will later to see if the problem goes away...

As well as trying an older version, please try placing the current XMPLAY.EXE alone in a directory, to eliminate it being a config or plugin related issue.

dbozan99

  • Posts: 3
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #59 on: 10 Jan '11 - 21:52 »
After fiddling around, I believe I have found the cause!

When I found out that it could use any winamp plug-in I immediately threw all of my plug-ins in with XMPlay. The Old Sk00l MOD player (http://www.winamp.com/plugin/oldsk00l-mod-player/2266) was causing the shutdown issues. (Not necessary in XMPlay anyway...)

The "latching-on" of 25% of my cpu was caused by the Library monitoring in combination with some other plug-in, I believe it's SNESAMP but I can't be sure.
While testing, this even caused some crashes too. I have no idea why, XMPlay just closed for no reason. No "This program has quit unexpectedly" or anything....

Easy fix though, turn off any monitored directories.


Everything seems to be working fine now. 0-5% CPU, even with DSP's. :)

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 18982
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #60 on: 13 Jan '11 - 17:51 »
If you scroll above the volume bar, the new version steps 3 units. Maybe it's related to the system default scrolling.
I know I am cantankerous, but I liked 5 units/step version better. Is there any xmplay.ini command, which I can use for set it back?

Here's an update that adds a "VolStep" XMPLAY.INI option to set the size of the mouse wheel volume adjustment...

   www.un4seen.com/stuff/xmplay.exe

Just associated XMPlay with MP3 files, 'Play all' starts WMP. Associated XMPlay with M3U as well, 'Play all' then loads the mp3s and the m3u in a single XMPlay (or the current one, if available).

Do the MP3s still get loaded in WMP, while the M3U gets loaded in XMPlay? If not, what happens if you remove the M3U association (via XMPlay's Integration options), eg. do the MP3s still get loaded in XMPlay?

The "latching-on" of 25% of my cpu was caused by the Library monitoring in combination with some other plug-in, I believe it's SNESAMP but I can't be sure.
While testing, this even caused some crashes too. I have no idea why, XMPlay just closed for no reason. No "This program has quit unexpectedly" or anything....

Easy fix though, turn off any monitored directories.

Was the initial scan completed, or was it still scanning the directory for tracks? You can confirm whether scanning is in progress by looking for "scan" in the "Entries" column in the Library options page. If the directory contains a lot of files (particularly archives), the initial scan could take a while, but once complete, it should subsequently only scan new files as they appear.

Dotpitch

  • Posts: 2829
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #61 on: 14 Jan '11 - 16:49 »
Just associated XMPlay with MP3 files, 'Play all' starts WMP. Associated XMPlay with M3U as well, 'Play all' then loads the mp3s and the m3u in a single XMPlay (or the current one, if available).
Do the MP3s still get loaded in WMP, while the M3U gets loaded in XMPlay? If not, what happens if you remove the M3U association (via XMPlay's Integration options), eg. do the MP3s still get loaded in XMPlay?
I must add I used a folder with MP3s and an M3U, that does seem to make a difference.
  • If only MP3s are present, the program which is associated with the MP3 extension is launched are gets all the MP3 files in the folder when clicking the 'Play all'-button.
  • If an M3U file is present, the program associated with M3Us is launched, irrespective of the association for MP3. The program gets the M3U and all of the MP3 files.
The order of applying the association doesn't matter. In all cases where XMPlay is launched, only a single instance is activated, not one for every file.

saga

  • Posts: 1986
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #62 on: 18 Jan '11 - 22:37 »
http://amp.dascene.net/downmod.php?index=25393
truncated xm file. XMPlay used to play it, now it just refuses to do so.

oddiophile

  • Posts: 149
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #63 on: 4 Feb '11 - 01:57 »
There's a bug with the visualisations in the latest 'stuff' build (3.6.0.5):

If you close XMPlay while a visualisation is selected / active , the next time you run the player, visualisations won't work (you must select 'No visualisations' before closing XMPlay or you'll get a black screen on the next run).

[EDIT] 'Allow multiple instances' is unchecked
« Last Edit: 4 Feb '11 - 16:44 by oddiophile »

Chinese Sausage

  • Posts: 421
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #64 on: 4 Feb '11 - 11:49 »
No such thing in my XMPlay settings (3.6.0.5). My visualizations do work even if I close XMPlay with the visualizations in.
Do you have "Allow multiple instances" checked under "Miscellaneous" options?

Cheers! :)

saga

  • Posts: 1986
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #65 on: 4 Feb '11 - 13:55 »
As indicated in the 3.7 thread, i'm having the same problem with broken visualisations, allow multiple instances is disabled.

bronth

  • Posts: 23
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #66 on: 4 Feb '11 - 17:09 »
I'm not sure if this is a XMPlay or Windows bug, but sometimes when I load a CD not all tracks are being added to the playlist. Sometimes the number of loaded tracks may correspond to the previously played CD. Reloading the current CD usually fixes the problem. (Also it seems that the problem doesn't occur with a fresh "installation" of XMPlay, but I might be wrong...)
« Last Edit: 4 Feb '11 - 17:12 by bronth »

Dotpitch

  • Posts: 2829
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #67 on: 6 Feb '11 - 14:27 »
Changelog for XMPlay 3.6  Go here...
« Last Edit: 5 Oct '11 - 16:56 by Dotpitch »

Chinese Sausage

  • Posts: 421
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #68 on: 8 Feb '11 - 18:59 »
When changing skins, the Extended Playlist/Library window keeps shrinking in size. Is it possible to fix this in 3.6, or better yet, have XMPlay remember the settings for each skin?

Thanks in advance!

Sounds like you have "Auto-resize" ticked (top left of the playlist). Remembering the size for each skin would be new though.

I suspect it may actually be with "Auto-resize" disabled. XMPlay will try to retain the info window size then, but that may not be possible while keeping a whole number of playlist/library entries displayed. Here's an update that should at least not always favour shrinking the window over expanding it in that case...

There is a similar problem with the Extended Playlist/Library window width, as it tends to grow in size when changing skins (with "Auto-resize" disabled).
« Last Edit: 8 Feb '11 - 19:02 by Chinese Sausage »

Pike84

  • Posts: 1398
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #69 on: 9 Feb '11 - 21:08 »
It seems that often the track's name changes well before the actual track change, and this also affects the queue. For example, just now I manually stopped a track a little less than a second before the track change (the timer showed -0.7 at the time), but the following queue item was already gone.

I'm not able to reproduce this consistently, but it seems to happen often, and has done so for a long time. The last time it was a normal mp3 track.

My sound card is currently Sound Blaster X-Fi Go!, and according to my memory, it's also been a basic X-Fi (Xtreme Gamer) and Audigy 2 for the time this has been happening.

raina

  • Posts: 1149
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #70 on: 10 Feb '11 - 07:19 »
Could it be related to cross-fading?

Cris

  • Posts: 231
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #71 on: 10 Feb '11 - 10:29 »
It's reated to the buffer size (Options -> Output). The next file is loaded when the current one has less time left than the buffer size.

Pike84

  • Posts: 1398
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #72 on: 10 Feb '11 - 11:18 »
Ah, now I remember it's been discussed before... Can it be "fixed" though? I mean, it may be useful to have some buffer available, but I don't think it should affect the track change point.

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 18982
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #73 on: 10 Feb '11 - 17:10 »
I suspect it may actually be with "Auto-resize" disabled. XMPlay will try to retain the info window size then, but that may not be possible while keeping a whole number of playlist/library entries displayed. Here's an update that should at least not always favour shrinking the window over expanding it in that case...

There is a similar problem with the Extended Playlist/Library window width, as it tends to grow in size when changing skins (with "Auto-resize" disabled).

Did you happen to have the window set skinny? If so, it could be that it was too skinny for some skins; each skin has a minimum window size determined by the size of its bitmaps. If the problem is happening even with the window set wide, please give 2 skins that demonstrate the problem when switching between them.

It seems that often the track's name changes well before the actual track change, and this also affects the queue. For example, just now I manually stopped a track a little less than a second before the track change (the timer showed -0.7 at the time), but the following queue item was already gone.

I'm not able to reproduce this consistently, but it seems to happen often, and has done so for a long time. The last time it was a normal mp3 track.

To achieve gapless playback, the next track needs to be ready to go before the current track finishes playing. So once the current track has finished decoding, XMPlay will close it and open the next one. That allows the next track to take up to the length of the output buffer to become ready without introducing a gap. That transition won't normally be obvious because the title/etc display won't be updated until the next track is actually heard (you can see it in the playlist though), but if you press stop during it, then the display will be updated immediately to reflect the new current track.

tails_

  • Posts: 74
Re: 3.6 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #74 on: 10 Feb '11 - 18:46 »
Um. What changed in 3.6.0.8 version?
« Last Edit: 10 Feb '11 - 19:04 by tails_ »