Author Topic: Suggestions for 3.9  (Read 167011 times)

garson

  • Posts: 162
Re: Suggestions for 3.9
« Reply #400 on: 4 Sep '19 - 17:34 »
Couple of suggestions.
Maybe add option to automatically separate subsongs when such files are added to playlist?
Also, maybe add shortcut for restart action.
« Last Edit: 4 Sep '19 - 17:51 by garson »

zazizu

  • Posts: 3
Re: Suggestions for 3.9
« Reply #401 on: 16 Sep '19 - 20:50 »
Sorting the library by folder. (Adding a 'Folder' field alongside the 'File' field.)

I know that sorting by 'File' technically also sorts by folder, but it gets a bit weird with nested folders (a file in the root dir with a name starting with 'A' takes priority over an entire folder that starts with 'B', and so on). This can be quite disorientating if you have a library with lots of folders, each with lots of files.
Sorry if this was already suggested, but it would be such a nice addition.

saga

  • Posts: 2355
Re: Suggestions for 3.9
« Reply #402 on: 20 Jan '20 - 19:16 »
I figured out that many times I am opening XMPlay from the tray icon is just because I want to know the length of the current track and maybe current play position. Would it be possible to add this information (e.g. by appending something like "[0:50 / 3:23]") to the tray icon's tooltip?

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 22606
Re: Suggestions for 3.9
« Reply #403 on: 22 Jan '20 - 16:58 »
Here's an update that adds the position and length to the tray tooltip during playback:

   www.un4seen.com/stuff/xmplay.exe

It doesn't seem to be possible to refresh the tooltip (to update the position) while it's showing, so that doesn't happen.

saga

  • Posts: 2355
Re: Suggestions for 3.9
« Reply #404 on: 22 Jan '20 - 17:15 »
Excellent! Works as envisioned. :)

bauxite69

  • Posts: 62
Re: Suggestions for 3.9
« Reply #405 on: 4 Feb '20 - 12:19 »

When trying to play some GYM and CYM files with XMPlay 3.8.4.3(in_ym.dll v2.5) i received this message :

"The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process."

We already had this problem previously : http://www.un4seen.com/forum/?topic=14320.msg106822#msg106822


Thanks

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 22606
Re: Suggestions for 3.9
« Reply #406 on: 6 Feb '20 - 13:36 »
They seem to be fine here (I only have a couple of files to try) with the YMAMP plugin that's available on the support site:

   https://support.xmplay.com/files_view.php?file_id=57

Do you have the problem with that plugin, or does it have other problems and so you're using a different plugin? If the latter, please provide a link to the other plugin.

bauxite69

  • Posts: 62
Re: Suggestions for 3.9
« Reply #407 on: 6 Feb '20 - 17:44 »
They seem to be fine here (I only have a couple of files to try) with the YMAMP plugin that's available on the support site:

   https://support.xmplay.com/files_view.php?file_id=57

Do you have the problem with that plugin, or does it have other problems and so you're using a different plugin? If the latter, please provide a link to the other plugin.

I have the problem with that plugin(v2.0b) and mine (v2.5).

After a few tests, i discovered that the problem was xmp-zxtune.dll (it can play GYM files) https://support.xmplay.com/files_view.php?file_id=674
If i put GYM in in_ymamp.dll's "Priority filetypes", i get "The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process." then the playback continue with xmp-zxtune.dll.

If i remove xmp-zxtune.dll, the GYM files will play with in_ymamp.dll without error messages.



Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 22606
Re: Suggestions for 3.9
« Reply #408 on: 7 Feb '20 - 13:55 »
I see there's a newer xmp-zxtune version (3.8.4) available, which is up on the support site now. Do you you still get the problem with that? It seems to be OK here.

bauxite69

  • Posts: 62
Re: Suggestions for 3.9
« Reply #409 on: 8 Feb '20 - 05:00 »
Same problem with xmp-zxtune v3.8.4  ???

My setup for testing only uses xmp-zxtune and in_ymamp
Everything works fine but if put GYM in in_ymamp's "Priority filetypes" i get the error message.


« Last Edit: 8 Feb '20 - 05:03 by bauxite69 »

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 22606
Re: Suggestions for 3.9
« Reply #410 on: 10 Feb '20 - 15:21 »
Oh right, you're giving priority for GYM files to in_ymamp (I was letting xmp-zxtune play them). It looks like it doesn't like the fact that XMPlay has the file open, but XMPlay needs to open the file because native plugins access the files through XMPlay's functions. If you have the in_ymamp source code, it should be possible to modify it to stop it caring about that, ie. search for the error message and modify the code preceding it.

bauxite69

  • Posts: 62
Re: Suggestions for 3.9
« Reply #411 on: 10 Feb '20 - 16:21 »
Oh right, you're giving priority for GYM files to in_ymamp (I was letting xmp-zxtune play them). It looks like it doesn't like the fact that XMPlay has the file open, but XMPlay needs to open the file because native plugins access the files through XMPlay's functions. If you have the in_ymamp source code, it should be possible to modify it to stop it caring about that, ie. search for the error message and modify the code preceding it.

I think it will be easier to only use xmp-zxtune  ;D

Thanks !
« Last Edit: 10 Feb '20 - 16:25 by bauxite69 »

saga

  • Posts: 2355
Re: Suggestions for 3.9
« Reply #412 on: 25 Feb '20 - 22:05 »
There are various keyboard shortcuts for sorting the playlist (or selections thereof). However, I think I never found a GUI button to do the same. Maybe that exists in some skins? Anyway, I think it would make sense to show a "Sort" submenu in the context menu of the playlist panel, to either select the whole playlist (if no selection is made) or the current selection according to all those different things that can be sorted by using shortcuts.

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 22606
Re: Suggestions for 3.9
« Reply #413 on: 26 Feb '20 - 16:36 »
The sorting options are currently in the right-click menu of the playlist's random order switch. If more than one track is selected then the sorting will apply only to those tracks.

saga

  • Posts: 2355
Re: Suggestions for 3.9
« Reply #414 on: 26 Feb '20 - 20:10 »
Ah, that's pretty well hidden. :) Do you think it would make sense to add it to the context menu of the playlist itself though? It seems like the most intuitive way for me to look for these options.

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 22606
Re: Suggestions for 3.9
« Reply #415 on: 27 Feb '20 - 13:52 »
Yeah, they would perhaps be better placed there. I'll look into it.

Zikey

  • Guest
Re: Suggestions for 3.9
« Reply #416 on: 26 Apr '20 - 15:27 »
It would be great if multiple playlists could be supported similar to foobar2000, with tabbed browsing. I would probably not lose so many playlists if I could have multiple tabs of playlists open.

Basically any possible way to retain multiple sessions of playlists, (between application launches too) and the selection/scroll position within each playlist.

I have never been motivated to populate the 'library' unfortunately, for almost a decade now.  But my Foobar2000, has tabs like 'Strauss', 'Boards of Canada', 'Jazz Funk', and some scratchpad playlists. I find it pretty productive.

And I am not the only one who's been spoiled by that feature of foobar, so it'll make it easier for some people to switch over when they realize xmplay has better stuff than foobar components  ;)

sveakul

  • Posts: 89
Re: Suggestions for 3.9
« Reply #417 on: 26 Apr '20 - 17:56 »
It would be great if multiple playlists could be supported ...

Basically any possible way to retain multiple sessions of playlists, (between application launches too) and the selection/scroll position within each playlist.

+1  IMO, this is the missing feature that would increase XMPlay's usability the most.

saga

  • Posts: 2355
Re: Suggestions for 3.9
« Reply #418 on: 1 May '20 - 13:09 »
Sometimes I have to move several related folders of music at once (e.g. putting some artist's album folders into a different place). Would it be possible for the "Scan for new locations" button to also cover sub-directories of the specified directory? This would avoid having to repeat this step manually for each and every sub folder.