Author Topic: XMPlay and the UnExoticA (Amiga) music collection - possible STIL support  (Read 1419 times)

XtC

(I registered this account back in 2009, but this seems to be my first post, so...)

Ey up!

I'm XtC, one of the main Amiga music rippers from the ExoticA website.

I contacted Ian Luck back in 2009 about possible support within XMPlay for an Amiga version of the C64 HVSC STIL.  Back then at ExoticA, we were possibly going to make it web based and indexed on the MD5 of a given music module file.  Ian liked the idea, but sadly the interest from the ExoticA team fizzled out and I'm not a Perl coder.  So the project stopped.

So I decided to do it all myself instead, but differently!

In it's place, I've created a flat database structured almost exactly like the C64 HVSC STIL.  So a typical entry would look like this: -

Code: [Select]
### Game/Brooke_Jason/Out_Run/jcb.out_run ##########################################################
    MD5: a4d1300ae531cfd0fff3c34789e6f88d
  XPATH: Game/Brooke_Jason/Out_Run/jcb.out_run
 XTITLE: Out Run
  XCOMP: Jason Brooke
  XYEAR: 1988 Probe / U.S. Gold
XFORMAT: Jason Brooke
   XRIP: This soundtrack was disk ripped by XtC.
(#1)
  TITLE: Magical Sound Shower [from arcade version]
 ARTIST: Hiroshi Miyauchi
(#2)
  TITLE: Splash Wave [from arcade version]
(#3)
  TITLE: Passing Breeze [from arcade version]

There are additional fields to compensate for the lack of file headers in most Amiga music modules.

The database currently only references music files available from the UnExoticA collection, but there are nearly 11,000 entries in it!

Since no player currently exists to use this new STIL, I guess it's technically in beta.  Would any of the XMPlay/Delix developers be interested in supporting this please?

Cheers,

XtC

Fraggie

Hi XtC, that's a great idea (back in the day I was thinking about retrieving some of this information from the LhA comments, but never got around to it...).