Author Topic: Non-realtime sequenced music playback using BASS_MIDI_StreamCreate?  (Read 574 times)

SonoSooS

Hi!

I'm new to BASS and BASSMIDI, but I have kinda figured out how to use it.

When I use
Code: [Select]
BASS_MIDI_StreamCreateFile(filename, 0, 0, BASS_SAMPLE_FLOAT | BASS_STREAM_DECODE | BASS_MIDI_DECAYEND | BASS_SAMPLE_MONO, samplerate);, everything works as expected when repeatedly calling
BASS_ChannelGetData(handle, buf, buflen);.

However, if I use
BASS_MIDI_StreamCreate(16, BASS_SAMPLE_FLOAT | BASS_STREAM_DECODE | BASS_SAMPLE_MONO, samplerate); and do some
BASS_MIDI_StreamEvents(handle, BASS_MIDI_EVENTS_STRUCT, bufcopy), I always get -1 when doing
BASS_ChannelGetData(handle, buf, buflen);, and the error is
BASS_ERROR_ENDED.

I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong, because all I changed is I replaced StreamCreateFile with StreamCreate, and I'm manually sending the data instead of BASSMIDI handling the MIDI file parsing for me.
I used a debugger, and the events sent via StreamEvents are correct.

I'm using BASS.NET 2.4.13.3, BASS 2.4.13.27, and BASSMIDI 2.4.11.5 on Windows x86_64, if that matters.

Ian @ un4seen

• Administrator
I suspect there is a MIDI_EVENT_END event in the array passed to BASS_MIDI_StreamEvents, which is ending the stream and resulting in the BASS_ERROR_ENDED error from BASS_ChannelGetData. MIDI_EVENT_END is defined as 0, so it could be that one of the events in the array is uninitialized.

SonoSooS

Oh, I haven't thought of that.

But then again, I used a debugger to look at each element, and none of them were null or MIDI_EVENT_END, so it doesn't make too much sense :/

SonoSooS

I've been debugging for hours, and the only conclusion I came to is that somehow BASS.NET is somehow broken. When using
public static int BASS_MIDI_StreamEvents(int handle, BASSMIDIEventMode flags, BASS_MIDI_EVENT[] events); I would not only get weird results, but also sometimes I'd get AccessViolationException with a non-null and non-empty array.