Author Topic: BASS_FX 2.4.11.1  (Read 592875 times)

(: JOBnik! :)

  • Posts: 1060
BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #50 on: 14 Aug '04 - 15:00 »
Hi ;D

I'm about to release a new BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1" in a few days ;)

* What's new?
  • Some DSP effects updated with 32-bit floating-point support.
  • BPM updated with 32-bit.
  • Added: "Sync & Tempo" example.
  • Win98/98SE using without "msvcp60.dll"
Have fun!

8) JOBnik! 8)
« Last Edit: 2 Sep '04 - 14:49 by (: JOBnik! :) »

nadia

  • Posts: 302
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #51 on: 17 Aug '04 - 23:24 »
Hi JOBnik  ;D,

are you aware of the fact that the actual implementation of BASS_FX is not compatible with the current version of the "loadnget" sample included with the bass package?
It seems that bass_fx requires to load explicitly the filename BASS.DLL, while the loadnget sample creates a different temporary filename. This will cause bass_fx not to find the bass dll and will not load.  ???
Do you have a solution?  ;)

Bye

Nadia  8) ;D 8)



Hi ;D

I'm about to release a new BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1" in a few days ;)

* What's new?
  • Some DSP effects updated with 32-bit floating-point support.
  • BPM updated with 32-bit.
  • Added: "Sync & Tempo" example.
  • Win98/98SE using without "msvcp60.dll"
Have fun!

8) JOBnik! 8)

(: JOBnik! :)

  • Posts: 1060
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #52 on: 4 Sep '04 - 21:09 »
Hi ;D

are you aware of the fact that the actual implementation of BASS_FX is not compatible with the current version of the "loadnget" sample included with the bass package?
It seems that bass_fx requires to load explicitly the filename BASS.DLL, while the loadnget sample creates a different temporary filename. This will cause bass_fx not to find the bass dll and will not load.  ???
Do you have a solution?  ;)

Did you check the - multi_fx - example in BASS_FX "package"? :)

Have fun!

8) JOBnik! 8)

nadia

  • Posts: 302
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #53 on: 5 Sep '04 - 09:42 »
Hi ;D

Did you check the - multi_fx - example in BASS_FX "package"? :)

Have fun!

8) JOBnik! 8)

Hi and thanks,  ;D

now, going through the code of the multi_fx sample, I understand the reason of the problem: bass_fx.dll needs to have the same prefix of bass.dll name in order to work, so if the BASS.DLL is created using the name ba1234.dll the BASS_FX.DLL file will have to be created using the temp name ba1234_fx.dll in order to work as expected. Was there a particular reason to adopt this approach?

Regards  ;D ;D ;D

Nadia


(: JOBnik! :)

  • Posts: 1060
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #54 on: 7 Sep '04 - 00:26 »
Hi ;D

:) BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1" is online :)

Please READ - BASS_FX.TXT - for more information on which effects has been updated with 32-bit floating-point support!

Thanks :)

Have fun!

8) JOBnik! 8)
« Last Edit: 7 Sep '04 - 11:37 by (: JOBnik! :) »

Chris

  • Posts: 1790
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "Beta1"
« Reply #55 on: 7 Sep '04 - 18:07 »
BASS_FX 2.0 "Beta1
Good Working !!! (will working here Fine)
Are there future Plans to include Floating Point to Tempo ???
as I see has  the orginal Soundtouch Library in version 1.2.0: Support for 32bit floating point .....
Greets Chris

(: JOBnik! :)

  • Posts: 1060
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "Beta1"
« Reply #56 on: 7 Sep '04 - 18:43 »
Hi ;D

Good Working !!! (will working here Fine)
Are there future Plans to include Floating Point to Tempo ???
as I see has  the orginal Soundtouch Library in version 1.2.0: Support for 32bit floating point .....

Thanks :)

Yep "beta 2" will include Tempo & Reverse 32-bit support :)
The latest version of SoundTouch is 1.2.1 ;)

Have fun!

8) JOBnik! 8)

craig100

  • Posts: 4
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #57 on: 10 Sep '04 - 08:31 »
Hi Jobnik,

Im using Bass_fx 2.0 beta 1 with Win98SE and ive noticed that the equaliser uses
around 80% of the cpu (a P-200 MMX), i used to use bass_fx 1.2 and that only used 50% (for a 10 band EQ).

The high CPU problem doesnt seem to occur on Windows 2000, in fact i get a drop in CPU use compared with older versions.

Maybe it has something to do with WDM drivers? (just a guess, my soundcard has vxd drivers for Win98)

edit: I tried it under windows 2000 and it uses only 50%
« Last Edit: 11 Sep '04 - 06:07 by craig100 »

antonio meza

  • Guest
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #58 on: 13 Sep '04 - 23:41 »
Hi ;D

BASS_FX 2.0 "alpha" is here!

* "alpha" - Because it's just compatible with BASS 2.0!
* The not "alpha" will support:
32-bit floating-point  in all DSPs and multi channel  in some DSPs :)

*** There's now "beta 1" released [07/09/2004] :)

Have fun!

8) JOBnik! 8)
::) ::)

(: JOBnik! :)

  • Posts: 1060
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #59 on: 14 Sep '04 - 07:41 »
Hi ;D

Im using Bass_fx 2.0 beta 1 with Win98SE and ive noticed that the equaliser uses
around 80% of the cpu (a P-200 MMX), i used to use bass_fx 1.2 and that only used 50% (for a 10 band EQ).

The high CPU problem doesnt seem to occur on Windows 2000, in fact i get a drop in CPU use compared with older versions.

Maybe it has something to do with WDM drivers? (just a guess, my soundcard has vxd drivers for Win98)

edit: I tried it under windows 2000 and it uses only 50%

The new version is uses 32-bit floating-point as default in updated effects, if you're using 16-bit, then it will convert the buffer samples from 32-bit to 16-bit and that's what will cause this more CPU usage and floating-point is actually uses more CPU :)

::) ::)

? :)

Have fun!

8) JOBnik! 8)

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 19894
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #60 on: 16 Sep '04 - 13:10 »
now, going through the code of the multi_fx sample, I understand the reason of the problem: bass_fx.dll needs to have the same prefix of bass.dll name in order to work, so if the BASS.DLL is created using the name ba1234.dll the BASS_FX.DLL file will have to be created using the temp name ba1234_fx.dll in order to work as expected. Was there a particular reason to adopt this approach?

It needed some naming convention to know what BASS.DLL it should use, and simply removing the "_fx" suffix ("cd"/"wma" for BASSCD/WMA) was as good as any. But this was before BASS had multiple device support - there shouldn't be any need for multiple DLL instances now :)

(: JOBnik! :)

  • Posts: 1060
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #61 on: 16 Sep '04 - 21:18 »
Hi ;D

Please download the latest BASS_FX as it was updated today with a fixed bug of "Echo" & "Reverb" effects. The effects would cause a mute in a sound and even some noise clicks.

Thanks :)

Have fun!

8) JOBnik! 8)

ken

  • Posts: 733
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #62 on: 23 Sep '04 - 08:49 »
How do I get playing position when reverse playback?

Set a new pos with "BASS_FX_ReverseSetPosition" works but get the now playing pos with "BASS_StreamGetFilePosition" only works on "normal" playback.

 ???

Chris

  • Posts: 1790
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #63 on: 23 Sep '04 - 10:32 »
Hi
try Bass_ChannelGetPosition
Greets Chris

ken

  • Posts: 733
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #64 on: 23 Sep '04 - 10:54 »
that works, but...

update of position is way to slow, even if I have a timer polling the value every 10ms I only get a update every 2:nd second.

 :'(

(: JOBnik! :)

  • Posts: 1060
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #65 on: 26 Sep '04 - 12:48 »
Hi ;D

update of position is way to slow, even if I have a timer polling the value every 10ms I only get a update every 2:nd second.

Change the dec_block to use 1 second :)

Have fun!

8) JOBnik! 8)

ken

  • Posts: 733
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #66 on: 26 Sep '04 - 12:56 »
Change the dec_block to use 1 second :)


Thanks, I set it to 0.1 and that works fine.   :)

RevG

  • Posts: 454
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #67 on: 28 Sep '04 - 16:50 »
I found a little problem with the BASS_FX_DSPFX_DAMP Dynamic Amplification. When playing some songs usually ones that have 20+ seconds of silence or low amplitude end up not being heard at all when using the BASS_FX_DSPFX_DAMP. It will play, but there will be no audio because I think the dynamic amplification is making it so low that it can't be heard. One song that it happens to me for every time is "Matthew Good Band - Man of Action" from the "Audio of Being" CD. I would post a link to the mp3 here, but I am not sure the legalities of doing that.

Thanks,
Greg

Irrational86

  • Posts: 960
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #68 on: 28 Sep '04 - 22:18 »
Yup, I remember this happening when I implemented the Dynamic Amplification code that Ian provided into my App...

To JOBnik, to fix this problem, do not let the Amplification variable be zero, make it lowest to 0.01, if floating-point, or ~10 if 16 bit, etc...0.01 nor 10 would be heard at all...
« Last Edit: 28 Sep '04 - 22:19 by XMinioNX »

RevG

  • Posts: 454
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #69 on: 30 Sep '04 - 04:45 »
Also jobnik, when I try to use the new bass_fx.dll (23,040 bytes) with my project I get the following message before the application even has a chance to load: (this doesn't happen using the previous dll (23,552 bytes). If I use the previous dll (23,552 bytes) everything still works fine.

I am using BASS.dll version 2.0.0.23 and Microsoft visual c++ 6.0, windows XP Home SP1, AMD 64 athlon 3200+

---------------------------
.exe - Application Error
---------------------------
The application failed to initialize properly (0xc0000005). Click on OK to terminate the application.
---------------------------
OK  
---------------------------

If you could help me out with this that would be great!
Thanks,
Greg

(: JOBnik! :)

  • Posts: 1060
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #70 on: 30 Sep '04 - 17:18 »
Hi ;D

To JOBnik, to fix this problem, do not let the Amplification variable be zero, make it lowest to 0.01, if floating-point, or ~10 if 16 bit, etc...0.01 nor 10 would be heard at all...

Thanks! Will be, shortly, fixed :)

Also jobnik, when I try to use the new bass_fx.dll (23,040 bytes) with my project I get the following message before the application even has a chance to load: (this doesn't happen using the previous dll (23,552 bytes). If I use the previous dll (23,552 bytes) everything still works fine.

I am using BASS.dll version 2.0.0.23 and Microsoft visual c++ 6.0, windows XP Home SP1, AMD 64 athlon 3200+

---------------------------
.exe - Application Error
---------------------------
The application failed to initialize properly (0xc0000005). Click on OK to terminate the application.

Does this also happens with the precompiled samples?
Could you send me the Dr. Watson debug info?

Thank you :)

Have fun!

8) JOBnik! 8)

RevG

  • Posts: 454
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #71 on: 30 Sep '04 - 17:54 »
Quote
Does this also happens with the precompiled samples?
Could you send me the Dr. Watson debug info?

No, it only happens with my one project I am using. Your precompiled examples work fine and if I compile them they work fine. For some reason it is just my project that causes it to crash, however the previous dll doesn't break so I am not sure what changed.

I unfortunately cannot get a Dr. watson debug information because it only gives me the classic red error box. Normally Dr Watson steps in, but with this error it doesn't even call dr watson for some reason.. not sure why. I didn't know that there were errors that dr watson couldn't intercept, but it looks like this is one of them, because all my other errors are picked up by dr watson.

It seems to be specific to my project so I will keep taking out lines of code until I find out why it is crashing :p

Thanks,
Greg
« Last Edit: 30 Sep '04 - 19:52 by RevG »

Irrational86

  • Posts: 960
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #72 on: 30 Sep '04 - 20:16 »
I unfortunately cannot get a Dr. watson debug information because it only gives me the classic red error box. Normally Dr Watson steps in, but with this error it doesn't even call dr watson for some reason.. not sure why. I didn't know that there were errors that dr watson couldn't intercept, but it looks like this is one of them, because all my other errors are picked up by dr watson.
This is because you are running your app inside the IDE, run it as a standalone EXE and Dr. Watson might step in...

RevG

  • Posts: 454
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #73 on: 30 Sep '04 - 20:20 »
Quote
This is because you are running your app inside the IDE, run it as a standalone EXE and Dr. Watson might step in...


I ran it outside the debugger and dr watson still didn't step in. Very strange. Like I said in my previous post, it does step in for any other errors in my application. Maybe it's not stepping in because the error is happening when trying to load bass_fx.dll and not in the actual exectable I am executing...

Cheers,
Greg

(: JOBnik! :)

  • Posts: 1060
Re:BASS_FX 2.0 "beta 1"
« Reply #74 on: 1 Oct '04 - 03:50 »
Hi ;D

Maybe it's not stepping in because the error is happening when trying to load bass_fx.dll and not in the actual exectable I am executing...

Did you also include the BASS_FX.H and then recompiled/rebuilded your application? Or just replaced the BASS_FX.DLL? :)

Have fun!

8) JOBnik! 8)