Author Topic: Problems with play samples  (Read 4971 times)

xDimka

  • Posts: 6
Problems with play samples
« on: 1 Jun '03 - 23:13 »
Hi, I used BASS_SamplePlay, but sound not shown.
BASS_StreamPlay working, correctly. All initialization, and return code correctly.

If I make test console application BASS_SamplePlay, working also correctly.

my config:
Bass1.8;
Os: xp-prof;
sdk dx9;
Live5.1

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 26222
Re: Problems with play samples
« Reply #1 on: 2 Jun '03 - 14:06 »
It's not very clear what your problem is. If you're saying that samples don't play, have you checked if the same happens with the BASS pre-compiled examples? (BASSTEST and 3DTEST can use samples) ... If the examples are working, you can compare the example code with yours.

xDimka

  • Posts: 6
Re: Problems with play samples
« Reply #2 on: 2 Jun '03 - 14:20 »
My code equal code in basstest, and it working in console app, but sound not listen in application with direct3d  ???

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 26222
Re: Problems with play samples
« Reply #3 on: 2 Jun '03 - 21:25 »
Ok. So, the examples are working, and there are only problems when you use D3D? If that's the case, try using the D3DCREATE_FPU_PRESERVE flag when you call the D3D CreateDevice function.

xDimka

  • Posts: 6
Re: Problems with play samples
« Reply #4 on: 2 Jun '03 - 23:10 »
not D3DCREATE_FPU_PRESERVE flag and(or) D3DCREATE_MULTITHREADED not help.

sorry I repeat, if I play it sample using BASS_StreamCreateFile
..
BASS_StreamPlay

sounds are listening...

xDimka

  • Posts: 6
Re: Problems with play samples
« Reply #5 on: 2 Jun '03 - 23:37 »
My DSound log
on init:
...
DSOUND: Setting DirectSound cooperative level to DSSCL_PRIORITY
DSOUND: Running on a certified driver
...
on detach app if I use(play) BASS_StreamPlay:

DSOUND: Error: Buffer was not created with DSBCAPS_CTRLFX flag
...

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 26222
Re: Problems with play samples
« Reply #6 on: 3 Jun '03 - 14:11 »
Again... the examples are working, and the problem only happens when you use D3D - is that correct? :D

And the problem also only happens when you use samples (BASS_SampleLoad/Play), and not when you use streams (BASS_Stream...) - is that correct?

What file format are the samples that you're loading?

If the problem only happens when you use D3D, I still suspect it's an FPU thing. I'll email you an updated DLL to try. (I'm planning to release it as 1.8a soon)

xDimka

  • Posts: 6
Re: Problems with play samples
« Reply #7 on: 3 Jun '03 - 14:29 »
all correct

I loaded mp3(stereo), and ogg(mono).

..FPU thing .. so maybe.. I more exp in 3d, than sound  :)

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 26222
Re: Problems with play samples
« Reply #8 on: 3 Jun '03 - 17:11 »
Quote
all correct

I loaded mp3(stereo), and ogg(mono).

Ok, that is almost certainly an "FPU thing" :)

Try the update I sent.

xDimka

  • Posts: 6
Re: Problems with play samples
« Reply #9 on: 3 Jun '03 - 19:16 »
Thanks Ian,

PlaySample and PlaySample3D working correctly. :)