Author Topic: 3.8 reports, queries and bugs  (Read 124799 times)

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 20400
Re: 3.8 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #500 on: 14 Sep '17 - 15:39 »
Oops! Here's an update to fix that:

   www.un4seen.com/stuff/xmplay.exe

This update also moves the info window text buffer to the heap (rather than the stack). It's still limited to 40 KB, but at least any overflows won't corrupt the stack now.

saga

  • Posts: 2179
Re: 3.8 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #501 on: 18 Sep '17 - 16:14 »
Without doubt this module here is corrupted: https://modarchive.org/index.php?request=view_by_moduleid&query=107890
However, it seems that XMPlay may read from some uninitialized memory when decoding the patterns, which it definitely should not do.
If you load this MOD file and some other file(s) alternatingly several times in a row, you should be able to observe in the pattern vis that the content of the first played pattern changes occasionally.

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 20400
Re: 3.8 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #502 on: 21 Sep '17 - 16:23 »
Yep, if a MOD file ends in the middle of the pattern data, then XMPlay will currently be repeatedly reading (from memory) the 4 bytes after the end for every row after that. I will sort it for the next update.

sveakul

  • Posts: 13
Re: 3.8 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #503 on: 10 Oct '17 - 04:28 »
Is it possible to add display values corresponding to "bitrate" and "sample rate" to the optional formatting string choices in the Titles option?

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 20400
Re: 3.8 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #504 on: 10 Oct '17 - 18:02 »
Unfortunately, that isn't possible currently because the bitrate and sample rate info isn't retained by XMPlay; it only has that info for the file that is currently playing.

sveakul

  • Posts: 13
Re: 3.8 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #505 on: 11 Oct '17 - 04:37 »
OK thanks for the info Ian!  Something for the "Wishlist" then  ;)

saga

  • Posts: 2179
Re: 3.8 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #506 on: 12 Oct '17 - 11:31 »
Has anyone else noticed that XMPlay (for quite a while now) occasionally drags two adjacted playlist entries even though only one of them is visibly selected? I cannot quite tell how to reproduce it because it's random, but it's happening all the time to me - it's rather annoying.

saga

  • Posts: 2179
Re: 3.8 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #507 on: 15 Nov '17 - 17:52 »
There are two "flavours" of 8xx panning found in MOD files: IT/XM-like, ranging from 800 to 8FF, and S3M-like, from 800 to 880 + 8A4 for surround. For example, Dimension 2012 by Necros uses the latter. XMPlay seems to use the former way unconditionally. However, it's relatively easy to tell the two pan modes apart heuristically. What OpenMPT does is checking if there are any panning commands > 88F (not > 880 as one might assume, to allow for some notation mistakes found in some modules) that are not 8A4. If such commands are not found, panning should be interpreted as 7-bit panning + surround.

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 20400
Re: 3.8 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #508 on: 17 Nov '17 - 18:02 »
Thanks, here's an update that does what you describe:

   www.un4seen.com/stuff/xmplay.exe

Let me know if you find it still has trouble with any files.

aspertyx

  • Posts: 1
Re: 3.8 reports, queries and bugs
« Reply #509 on: 22 Nov '17 - 17:19 »
While listening to BBC Radio3 http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmedia_radio3_mf_p, XMPLAY "glitches" or stutters for a few seconds every minute or so. XMPLAY plays other internet radio stations perfectly. I notice that the Track Info page blanks out momentarily when this occurs. XMPLAY 3.8.2.37 is installed. I do not see this glitch playing the BBC3 stream wih PotPlayer. I prefer using XMPLAY. Suggestions?

beanzncheeze

  • Posts: 1
Apologies if I'm 50 ways ta Sunday wrong for posting here.
I just found your player yesterday and love it! Thanks

However I seem to have a problem, when playing flac files.

When I open a Folder with some flac files and click on a song everything is groovy, (it plays) but if I proceed to click on another song (while the player is still playing the other song) it will proceed to play the second song ok but in a separate (newly opened player) so both songs are playing at the same time in two separate players. And each new song I click on opens a new player all playing each song at the same time.

It doesn't happen with mp3's they are functioning normal, if I'm playing a mp3 then click on another the player will release that song and start the new song (in the same player) as it should.

Is this a bug? or something I'm doing wrong such as missing some plugin? 
I'm on window 10 32bit with the latest player.

thanks