Author Topic: XMPlay SID plugin  (Read 375664 times)

piovrauz

  • Posts: 977
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #300 on: 10 Mar '09 - 14:58 »
yup, it works (but I have to set default song duration to 0). I lose seek bar, but it plays correctly the infinite loop now.
thanks.

Elrinth

  • Posts: 136
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #301 on: 18 Mar '09 - 19:56 »
is there any grand reason for xmplay sid plugin to take so high cpu?
compared to sidplay it's really hefty.. going up to 40% cpu at some songs.


Dotpitch

  • Posts: 2878
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #302 on: 18 Mar '09 - 20:55 »
is there any grand reason for xmplay sid plugin to take so high cpu? compared to sidplay it's really hefty.. going up to 40% cpu at some songs.
Yes, that because xmp-sid creates stereo sound. Tick 'Optimize for speed' or switch back to mono.

Elrinth

  • Posts: 136
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #303 on: 19 Mar '09 - 09:06 »
is there any grand reason for xmplay sid plugin to take so high cpu? compared to sidplay it's really hefty.. going up to 40% cpu at some songs.
Yes, that because xmp-sid creates stereo sound. Tick 'Optimize for speed' or switch back to mono.

also what's the reason for all sids sounding much better in sidplay compared to xmplay? isn't xmplay using the same play routines as sidplay?

raina

  • Posts: 1163
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #304 on: 19 Mar '09 - 11:31 »
Don't both have kind of a lot of settings that affect the sound? Emulation engine, filters, resolution and whatnot.. Is there a distinct difference when using similar settings on both? And what about comparing the sound to a real SID, where there are minor differences from chip to chip as well? Simply "better" is too broad a definition to tackle. And also loaded with high levels of subjectivity. I never made any comparisons myself because when xmp-sid arrived, it won hands down because of its features, integration and usability.

Fraggie

  • Posts: 714
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #305 on: 19 Mar '09 - 12:29 »
Yes, define "better".

Sidplay2/w doesn't do resampling and external filters. It doesn't do EQ, reverb, etc. Maybe you should try to turn off everything to get the "crispy" sound? Xmp-sid uses the same libsidplay2 & reSID as sidplay2/w, so any emulation precision differences are very unlikely.


As for performance, libsidplay2 emulates two SID's for stereo output. This is very inefficient and in my opinion requires redesigning (if anyone actually cares about that).

Elrinth

  • Posts: 136
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #306 on: 23 Mar '09 - 00:45 »
there is some timing issues... I've fiddled with all settings and haven't seem to solved them...
You can notice it on:
Scarim_Nick/Spy_vs_Spy.sid

Play it in sidplay/windows win32 version (nov 7 2002) and compare.

Fraggie

  • Posts: 714
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #307 on: 28 Mar '09 - 08:08 »
Maybe I should have my ears examined, but I cannot hear any "timing" differences compared to sidplay2/w. :)

Make sure you have SID model and clock speed set to autodetect. Select Real C64 Environment too. If it's still wrong, then delete the [SID] section from your xmplay.ini.

gezmen

  • Guest
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #308 on: 3 May '09 - 11:40 »
Hey Fraggie,

HVSC #50 has recently been released and so i did update my archive to #50, and guess what? XMPlay is crashing now whenever I try to open it.  :(

After tweaking into options forth-and-back many times, I found out the actual problem as follows:

- SID Plugin is having problem while reading SLDB data from HVSC #50.

When I turn on "Load Song Length Database" in the plugin options, XMPlay will hang up with like 200~500 MB (and growing more) of RAM usage on the next time I open it. The only way to run it properly then is to delete "xmplay.ini" so that the options are reset and "Load SLDB" is unchecked.

I don't know which one has the actual trouble: SID plugin or HVSC#50 ? But I really would like this problem fixed asap because it is like a hell for me that all the SID music lengths are appearing 5:00 !!  :( I want the correct song lengths back!  :'(

Thanks a lot for this SID plugin, really it makes my day. So, please fix this problem.  ;)

P.S. I am using SID plugin rev.25c

raina

  • Posts: 1163
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #309 on: 3 May '09 - 12:47 »
Are you loading the ENTIRE HVSC or does it crash even with individual SIDs?

WonderSlug

  • Posts: 34
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #310 on: 3 May '09 - 18:47 »
Can anyone point me to where I can get rev25c?

All the links I go to just have rev25b, not rev25c



deus-ex

  • Posts: 277
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #311 on: 4 May '09 - 09:36 »

saga

  • Posts: 2430
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #312 on: 5 May '09 - 22:16 »
I encounter the same bug, actually. I have not added any new SID tunes, I merely updated my HVSC to #50 and XMPlay (or rather the plugin) takes up a lot of memory and cpu time during startup until it reaches the maximum swap file size completely crashes.

Knurek

  • Posts: 534
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #313 on: 6 May '09 - 06:20 »
I encounter the same bug, actually. I have not added any new SID tunes, I merely updated my HVSC to #50 and XMPlay (or rather the plugin) takes up a lot of memory and cpu time during startup until it reaches the maximum swap file size completely crashes.

Copy pasta from my HVSC list post, seems Fraggie doesn't read it anymore:

Just a heads-up:
The line
; /MUSICIANS/B/Bond_Alan/Randomly_generated_BASIC.sid
819e2f51f310dd14b0625c192a3d4531=0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30 0:30
in Songlengths.txt causes XMPlay's SID plugin to crash and burn,
probably due to sheer number of tunes in one line. Very weird bug,
XMPlay just starts leaking memory while loading, went up from 30 MB to
2 GB (and crapped out of course). Until Pieknyman updates the plugin,
just remove the line or trim some songs, to have xmp-sid work back as intended.

Fraggie

  • Posts: 714
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #314 on: 6 May '09 - 08:22 »
Thanks for your investigation Knuru. I'll fix it once I have spare 15 minutes...

Fraggie

  • Posts: 714
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #315 on: 7 May '09 - 10:53 »
Revision 25d is now available. The SLDB reader can now handle more than 128 sub-songs.

raina

  • Posts: 1163
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #316 on: 7 May '09 - 11:12 »
Great work, crew! :)

gezmen

  • Guest
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #317 on: 7 May '09 - 15:44 »
Revision 25d is now available. The SLDB reader can now handle more than 128 sub-songs.

Now, that's great!  :D
Thank you.

Jace

  • Posts: 827
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #318 on: 13 May '09 - 08:10 »
Hmm. 25d failed to load any STIL/SLDB info for me from newest HVSC (#50). Rolled back to 25c, removed the offending SLDB line and the info loads fine (no change to settings there). :)

Working for anyone else?


Scratch this, was too hasty. Newest Stuff version of XMP sorted out the problem. :P
« Last Edit: 13 May '09 - 08:19 by Jace »

Dhry

  • Posts: 83
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #319 on: 22 Sep '09 - 01:27 »
Any chance of a new version of this plugin which incorporates the Antti Lankila distortion hack (currently in Sidplay2.5/W)?

Cheers
Dhry

Fraggie

  • Posts: 714
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #320 on: 22 Sep '09 - 10:20 »
Any chance of a new version of this plugin which incorporates the Antti Lankila distortion hack (currently in Sidplay2.5/W)?
Is it good enough now?

Dhry

  • Posts: 83
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #321 on: 22 Sep '09 - 16:24 »
Uh, wel.. uhm.. you know, we're talking about Commodore64 music, here. Good is such a subjective term. With this sort of music, static, hiss, buzzes, pops and crackles - all of that is often considered by people to make the music "better". I dunno. It's something different. You've got an excellent plugin - I'm no purist (and I won't become one until the price of a Hardsid4U drops below that of a Porsche Boxster) and I enjoy listening to SIDs on it far more than on the standalone players, so all I'm after is new/different features to jazz it up a little. Up to you.

Dhry

PS: A foobar2000 plugin would absolutely make my day. *8-)

Jace

  • Posts: 827
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #322 on: 29 Jan '10 - 00:24 »
Long time no see, thread. ;D

But, to the point. I'm getting crashes with xmp-sid.dll rev .25d (most recent at time of posting) on XMP 3.5.0.6 (ditto) when 'Enable Groovy Sound' is checked and XMP's crossfading is enabled. The other SID settings don't seem to make a difference. If crossfading is set to 0 seconds, no crash.

Also tried with only xmplay.exe and xmp-sid.dll in a dir, still happens.

Quote from: Error signature
AppName: xmplay.exe    AppVer: 3.5.0.6    ModName: xmp-sid.dll
ModVer: 0.0.25.4    Offset: 0000c7e3

Dhry

  • Posts: 83
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #323 on: 29 Jan '10 - 22:49 »
Is there somewhere I can get 3.5.0.6? Looked around for it, couldn't find it. My version of XMplay shows 3.5.

Dhry

Pike84

  • Posts: 1398
Re: XMPlay SID plugin
« Reply #324 on: 29 Jan '10 - 23:22 »
Take a look here: Forum Guide - Read before posting.

;)

[edit]Actually, it seems to be 3.5.0.7 already.. oh well.
« Last Edit: 29 Jan '10 - 23:24 by Pike84 »