Author Topic: BUG: crash when changing vis with module playing  (Read 3712 times)

Torkell

  • Posts: 1169
My setup: Flatline skin in normal mode, info window set to samples tab and hidden, mod pattern display on follow mode selected as visulisation. CoR's Aorta 1.0 is the first vis plugin in the list.

How to reproduce: Start a module playing (tested with it and s3m formats) by selecting it in the small playlist. Click the Info Window button. Change to the vis tab and scroll down one notch with the mouse. (this seems to only occur just after starting xmplay).

Crash dump is at http://uk.geocities.com/the_boggyb/xmplay/xmplaycrash.txt and contains a handful of those crashes.



Also, "Cannon Angel" by Skaven sounds a bit odd when I play it back on XMPlay (investigating this was how I discovered the above bug). First in order 4 and then order 7 there is some sort of high-pitched electronic 'beep' noise which I don't remember being there before.

My copy of Cannon Angel is at http://uk.geocities.com/the_boggyb/xmplay/cannona.it, the original is at http://www.futurecrew.com/skaven/song_files/cannona.it. The distortion is not in the mp3 version on skaven's website (http://www.futurecrew.com/skaven/song_files/mp3/cannon_angel.mp3) (would be at about 00:49 if it was), so it's a bug in XMPlay or my download became dud sometime in the past week or two (which is not a good sign).

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 20389
Re: BUG: crash when changing vis with module playing
« Reply #1 on: 13 Apr '05 - 14:28 »
My setup: Flatline skin in normal mode, info window set to samples tab and hidden, mod pattern display on follow mode selected as visulisation. CoR's Aorta 1.0 is the first vis plugin in the list.

How to reproduce: Start a module playing (tested with it and s3m formats) by selecting it in the small playlist. Click the Info Window button. Change to the vis tab and scroll down one notch with the mouse. (this seems to only occur just after starting xmplay).

Crash dump is at http://uk.geocities.com/the_boggyb/xmplay/xmplaycrash.txt and contains a handful of those crashes.

I can't reproduce that crash here, but as I recall, the Aorta plugin is a bit touchy about the rendering dimensions. For some reason, your log doesn't show the loaded module names, so I can't tell for sure which the crashes occured in, but presumably it's the Aorta plugin. They're not in XMPLAY.EXE anyway :)

Can you reproduce the crash without the Aorta plugin?

Also, "Cannon Angel" by Skaven sounds a bit odd when I play it back on XMPlay (investigating this was how I discovered the above bug). First in order 4 and then order 7 there is some sort of high-pitched electronic 'beep' noise which I don't remember being there before.

Oops, it's sorted for the next release.

Alexsource

  • Posts: 258
Re: BUG: crash when changing vis with module playing
« Reply #2 on: 13 Apr '05 - 18:16 »
I had a similar crash when changing from mod pattern display to Cor's explossions... The file was a .xm, probably some other visuals by Cor exhibit the same problem.
I also discovered that if you start the song with Cor's explossions then change to mod pattern view, and then back to cor's, it won't hang up.

Lyle

  • Posts: 35
Re: BUG: crash when changing vis with module playing
« Reply #3 on: 19 Apr '05 - 11:34 »
I have had a similar crash using the Rappa Vis changer.

Zarggg

  • Posts: 1242
Re: BUG: crash when changing vis with module playing
« Reply #4 on: 20 Apr '05 - 23:44 »
I have had a similar crash using the Rappa Vis changer.

Known issue for a while. That's why Keltic (finally) took it off the Support page. I think that problem occurs when Rappa switches to a vis that has resolution issues.

Jace

  • Posts: 825
Re: BUG: crash when changing vis with module playing
« Reply #5 on: 21 Apr '05 - 04:43 »
Unrelated to current issue, but still a bug with the visualisations window.

Whenever I play a song (format doesn't seem to matter), open the info window with a shortcut (Ctrl-Alt-I), which opens in 'Message' mode. (This doesn't seem to matter either, does it when opening normally too).

This is when it gets interesting.
Then I click the 'vis' button, I get the correct window, but it's filled with black. None of the visualisations there are selected (not even in the right-click list). Not even 'No visualisation' :P

I don't have any extra vis' installed, was using Graphite skin, but behaves the same with default skin too.

Lyle

  • Posts: 35
Re: BUG: crash when changing vis with module playing
« Reply #6 on: 22 Apr '05 - 08:43 »
Thanks Zarggg, pity though Like the functionality