Author Topic: How to create subsongs into MO3?  (Read 10649 times)

Amrud

How to create subsongs into MO3?
« on: 24 Sep '05 - 10:33 »
Hi all...i am very very new to MO3 format and trackers in general. I got a question which would probably sound silly, but here goes...

i've created 3 songs and converted them into XM format, and i need to compress them into one single MO3 format. Now, i know how to compress 1 song into 1 MO3, but how do i group them into a single MO3 and embed some sort of flags that mark the start and end of each song? These songs share the same set of soundbanks. FYI, this is for use in a computer game project that i'm working on now.

i've got MID2XM, MODPlug, MO3 encoder and XMPlay in my machine. So please help me with this, i need to know quite urgently as the project is due very very soon! and i've only been introduced to this format 3 days ago...

any help would be much appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Cheers.

raina

Re: How to create subsongs into MO3?
« Reply #1 on: 24 Sep '05 - 11:50 »
Subsongs in modules are based on the usage of pattern jump commands. It's really just one song and what's played depends on where in the module you start playing.

What XMPlay does is it analyzes the module and when a jump command that always returns the module to a certain point is found, the actual jump command is ignored and that spot is marked as the end of one subsong. So what I'm saying here is that the module has to be divided into subsongs while writing it for everything to go smooth. Grouping several modules into subsongs in one module is hard manual work, as I explained in this thread. It's possible, yes.. but it gets harder and harder the longer every song is. If you in fact have every module using the exact same samples in the exact same sample slots, that'll save you SOME work, though.