Author Topic: DSD Playback Being Randomly Corrupted  (Read 401 times)

zorefilamrak

  • Posts: 5
DSD Playback Being Randomly Corrupted
« on: 13 Feb '21 - 22:05 »
Thank you for this great quality audio player.

DSD & WV are installed on Xmplay 3.8.5 and under Options>Plugin>Input>DSD rev 1>config; DSD over PCM (DoP) is enabled.

This stream is perfectly read by the Topping NX4 DSD and all lights are lit as they should be for DSD and also in XMPlay File Info shows correct data.

Randomly and for no apparent reason XMPlay fails to lock onto the DSD stream and I get noise with music in the background. When I physically look at the Topping indicators (red = DSD; blue = PCM) the lights are flickering and confirm visually that a lock is unable to be made.

If it were not for the fact, in my view, that XMPlay renders some of the best DSD when working I probably wouldn't bother you. Additionally my DSD collection is not vast.

Initially I thought Library was corrupting the DSD playback when I select the DSD folder on my SSD. But it cannot be replicated.

My current solution, a bit drastic, is to delete and re-install XMPlay with all my plugins which are asio, flac, wasapi, DSD, wv. After a clean re-install everything works fine....until the next time.

I did try removing each output plug-in individually and restart but to no avail.

I use the latest version of W10 (20H2 - OS Build 19042.804) on a modern Acer Aspire 7 with SSD drives and 8GB of Ram et al.

I use XXHE, Bughead Nontallion, Foobar2K, Tunebrowser on Windows and on Linux I use wtfplay, AVLinux with Strawberry  & Deadbeef players.

Only wtfplay & XMPlay can render DSD which is not thin thin and anaemic but with body and fullness. When I want to browse and listen to high quality music on Windows I now use XMPlay mostly. Just music I use wtfplay.

Thank you for your consideration to look into this issue. I look forward to a solution.


zorefilamrak

  • Posts: 5
Re: DSD Playback Being Randomly Corrupted
« Reply #1 on: 13 Feb '21 - 22:25 »
The plug-ins are fine and do not need to be deleted and re-installed.

I just had the DSD issue again and it was sufficient to delete XMPlay 3.8.5 and reinstall it. DSD working again as it should...FTB.


Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 23553
Re: DSD Playback Being Randomly Corrupted
« Reply #2 on: 15 Feb '21 - 16:56 »
That's strange. Any DSP (including volume/balance adjustment) will corrupt DSD data, but I would expect it to stay corrupted for a while in that case, not flicker. Still, you could try setting a "DSP - Bypass" shortcut (in the "Shortcuts" options page) and enable that to prevent any DSP being applied by XMPlay.

It's also strange if reinstalling XMPlay helps. Does just deleting the XMPLAY.INI file have the same effect?

You mention the ASIO and WASAPI plugins. Does the problem happen when using either of them, in the "Output" options page? Make sure the WASAPI plugin has exclusive-mode enabled.

zorefilamrak

  • Posts: 5
Re: DSD Playback Being Randomly Corrupted
« Reply #3 on: 16 Feb '21 - 23:44 »
Thanks for your prompt reply. My laptop has gone for repairs as a screen hinge snapped. Once received will investigate and respond.

zorefilamrak

  • Posts: 5
Re: DSD Playback Being Randomly Corrupted
« Reply #4 on: 20 Feb '21 - 19:19 »
That's strange. Any DSP (including volume/balance adjustment) will corrupt DSD data, but I would expect it to stay corrupted for a while in that case, not flicker. Still, you could try setting a "DSP - Bypass" shortcut (in the "Shortcuts" options page) and enable that to prevent any DSP being applied by XMPlay.

1. Received laptop, opened Xmplay, selected a DSD track and straight into trouble with white noise mixed with music faintly heard in the background.
2. Deleted INI file and restarted XMPlay with same DSD track and all working fine.
3. Also enabled F12 as DSD Bypass in shortcuts and using this on XMP startup prior to playing tracks.
4. So far for the past day or so no issue with DSD, but it's too early to know if problem is still there or gone because of F12/DSP Bypass.
5. Please clarify difference between F12/DSP Bypass and simply not selecting any DSP functions in DSP module.

It's also strange if reinstalling XMPlay helps. Does just deleting the XMPLAY.INI file have the same effect?
1. Yes...just need to delete INI file and restart XMP

You mention the ASIO and WASAPI plugins. Does the problem happen when using either of them, in the "Output" options page? Make sure the WASAPI plugin has exclusive-mode enabled.

1. I only use ASIO and so far all my comments are to do with ASIO Output

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 23553
Re: DSD Playback Being Randomly Corrupted
« Reply #5 on: 23 Feb '21 - 17:55 »
If deleting the XMPLAY.INI file fixed the problem then it looks like it was probably caused by something in the config. Most likely DSP-related. Note that DSP includes volume/balance changes, so perhaps you accidentally moved one of those sliders or pressed one the default shortcut keys? The "DSP - Bypass" option will disable all of that (not only DSP plugins).

zorefilamrak

  • Posts: 5
Re: DSD Playback Being Randomly Corrupted
« Reply #6 on: 24 Mar '21 - 00:55 »
Hello....

I use the DSP Bypass, but sometimes forget!

I use XMPlay 3.8.5.14 plus latest ASIO & WASAPI.

My palyback is always with ASIO (Topping NX4 DSD driver).

So far since starting this post I no longer have issues playing DSD.

It would be interesting if files could be played through RAM...never-the-less....as is I get very high quality rendering of FLAC, WAV & DSD. Very high indeed.

Thank you!