Author Topic: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??  (Read 752 times)

Sebby75

  • Posts: 7
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #25 on: 22 Jul '21 - 18:41 »
Now we're talking... Great Progress !!

Couple of things...

- displays 6581 PAL in player window regardless of what sid type is detected...   seem to detect and play 8580 tunes correctly but still displays 6581.. fiddling with sid type seem to crash it if something is playing..
- default duration... i have tried to put in 0 to get infinity but it is just not having it.. plays nothing and resets to 120seconds upon restart (edit... play duration doesnt seem to stick at all... goes back to 120seconds upon restart)
- play speed... If you start XMplay with this plugin set up as mono and then switch it to stereo... it plays half the speed..  If you start XMplay with this plugin set up as stereo and then switch it to mono... it plays double speed..


something to add possibly in the future (if possible) is adding SIDId (playroutine identity scanner) that was built into Fraggies plugin..
https://github.com/cadaver/sidid

Thanks again !!! Now i'll carry on testing :)
« Last Edit: 23 Jul '21 - 08:25 by Sebby75 »

Keltic Danor

  • XMPlay Support
  • Posts: 810
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #26 on: 23 Jul '21 - 11:00 »
Hey hey!

Ian gave it a once over and polished things up a little bit so seeking among other things should work a bit better (or properly in some cases). So thanks for that Chief! ;)

Feedback
Just figured out what it was. I had changed the frequency from 44100 to 48000. This appears to increase playback speed where it should not.
The problem with that one is changing the frequency in the plugin but XMPlay doesn't know about it hence fast/slow or some other oddities. One of the adjustments above also got rid of the frequency/channel settings in the plugin itself and they come from XMPlay instead so you won't get frequency issues like that anymore since XMPlay will know what is going on.

Question: What SID filter settings are you defaulting to for playback?
None, whatever libsidplayfp is doing by default is/was the level used. My old man ears can't tell much ;D so you will have to let me know on this one.

- displays 6581 PAL in player window regardless of what sid type is detected...   say it detects 8580 and plays correctly but still displays 6581.. fiddling with sid type seem to crash it if something is playing..
- default duration... i have tried to put in 0 to get infinity but it is just not having it.. plays nothing and resets to 120seconds upon restart
Yes I wasn't sure how to get those details but I think I have worked it out.
I forgot 0 duration was a thing, if you set it to 0 now it will play forever as expect but it will disable seek and won't show duration (unless songlengths.md5 provides one).
« Last Edit: 24 Jul '21 - 05:57 by Keltic Danor »

Sebby75

  • Posts: 7
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #27 on: 23 Jul '21 - 12:49 »
Yay !! Testing again...

And after 2 minutes I have managed to stumble upon tune (attached) that is crashing XMPlayer with version 0.5 of the plugin but plays fine with version 0.4.
Player window closes when I attempt to play it... Error message pops up when I try to add it to playlist.

Also had it play up with songlengths moment ago... it worked and then suddenly stopped to work and insisted on play time inputted in "default duration" instead.
Deleting path to songlengths (leaving box blank) and attempting to play anything results in XMPlay crashing.. After restart XMPlay is still crashing until new path to songlengths is provided..

Sorry !! Back to testing

Kindest regards
Sebby75

Keltic Danor

  • XMPlay Support
  • Posts: 810
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #28 on: 23 Jul '21 - 14:03 »
Thanks for the feedback!

Don't forget the DOCUMENTS path is now like this, no Songlengths.md5 in the path:

C:\_Resources\C64\C64Music\DOCUMENTS\
../C64Music/DOCUMENTS/

Sorry about the problems, I guess I changed a lot of stuff around today. :P
« Last Edit: 23 Jul '21 - 17:11 by Keltic Danor »

Sebby75

  • Posts: 7
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #29 on: 23 Jul '21 - 16:51 »
Damn you're quick...
 
I was writing comments to 0.5a as it was still trying to show STIL info in samples tab and crashing when switching between messages and samples tab (showing sometimes different garbage in samples tab after every switch)

...and you have gone through 2 further builds since...

Love it !!! back to testing :)

Keltic Danor

  • XMPlay Support
  • Posts: 810
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #30 on: 23 Jul '21 - 17:07 »
Actually about that, some more changes, figured out the 8580 filter issue....

-New Update listed below-
« Last Edit: 24 Jul '21 - 01:53 by Keltic Danor »

Dhry

  • Posts: 100
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #31 on: 23 Jul '21 - 18:18 »
Echoing Sebby's thoughts. Woke up this morning, had a crapload of work to get through and have only just checked in here to find multiple new versions to look at. Man, you have done an IMMENSE amount of work in the last couple of days and I cannot begin to express my appreciation for it. Have download 0.6b and am listening right now. I love it so far - filter mode and percentage works great, although I'd like number fields or sliders rather than 5-increment dropdown. Everything else works and sounds good, seeking is great and just from a five min messaround it seems to have everything I want. Will keep playing throughout the day.

Thanks again!
DRS

Dhry

  • Posts: 100
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #32 on: 23 Jul '21 - 18:22 »
One thing I have noticed is that when starting a new SID playing, there's an audible "click" sound. This is not present in the original Fraggie plugin and I think it's because there's an option "Try to attenuate power-on noise", there's also a power-on delay option in the other plugin. I'm trying to concentrate just on really obvious things right now, the nice to haves can certainly come later, but - is there any way of easily dealing with the click upon new SID playback?

DRS

Keltic Danor

  • XMPlay Support
  • Posts: 810
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #33 on: 24 Jul '21 - 01:54 »
I did wonder what that was for, I'll have a go at adding it later, I'm just going to remove the core setting for now and put it there.
« Last Edit: 24 Jul '21 - 05:57 by Keltic Danor »

yoba

  • Posts: 12
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #34 on: 24 Jul '21 - 04:28 »
Very nice!  8)

However, not compatible with XP due to unsupported function GetTickCount64 in KERNEL32.dll

Keltic Danor

  • XMPlay Support
  • Posts: 810
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #35 on: 24 Jul '21 - 05:59 »
Sorry about Windows XP but I don't have a windows XP machine so not sure I can fix that one myself.
I'm not sure what "Try to attenuate power-on noise" means but hopefully the power delay thing works well enough.
« Last Edit: 25 Jul '21 - 17:51 by Keltic Danor »

Dr. Fiemost

  • Posts: 15
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #36 on: 24 Jul '21 - 07:35 »
The power-on delay is just a small loop in the init routine to allow the system to settle down but it won't prevent the SID click.
I think that feature could be achieved with a few milliseconds fade-in so the volume can reach its full value after the noise.

Keltic Danor

  • XMPlay Support
  • Posts: 810
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #37 on: 24 Jul '21 - 07:47 »
The power-on delay is just a small loop in the init routine to allow the system to settle down but it won't prevent the SID click.
I think that feature could be achieved with a few milliseconds fade-in so the volume can reach its full value after the noise.
Ooh I see, okay will have to look into it. Thanks mate.  :)

Keltic Danor

  • XMPlay Support
  • Posts: 810
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #38 on: 24 Jul '21 - 12:31 »
One thing I have noticed is that when starting a new SID playing, there's an audible "click" sound. This is not present in the original Fraggie plugin and I think it's because there's an option "Try to attenuate power-on noise", there's also a power-on delay option in the other plugin. I'm trying to concentrate just on really obvious things right now, the nice to haves can certainly come later, but - is there any way of easily dealing with the click upon new SID playback?
I've had a little success removing the click by trimming the starting audio a bit but I'm not quite sure how much to trim, perhaps I should leave that to someone cleverer with the sound side of things to do it properly with detection instead of blindly lopping things off like I am.

But just for an experiment I made one with click removal cut offs with some random figures.
https://support.xmplay.com/temp/xmp-sidex0.7testonly.zip

This is just a test one to see if chopping the start off by a bit will do what you want, note that you can just edit the XMPlay.ini (while XMPlay is closed) and manually put in whatever number you want. I uh... probably would'nt recommend it for everyday use though, just as an experiment.
« Last Edit: 24 Jul '21 - 17:10 by Keltic Danor »

Dhry

  • Posts: 100
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #39 on: 24 Jul '21 - 20:53 »
I've had a little success removing the click by trimming the starting audio a bit but I'm not quite sure how much to trim, perhaps I should leave that to someone cleverer with the sound side of things to do it properly with detection instead of blindly lopping things off like I am. But just for an experiment I made one with click removal cut offs with some random figures.
https://support.xmplay.com/temp/xmp-sidex0.7testonly.zip
This is just a test one to see if chopping the start off by a bit will do what you want, note that you can just edit the XMPlay.ini (while XMPlay is closed) and manually put in whatever number you want. I uh... probably would'nt recommend it for everyday use though, just as an experiment.

This version definitely does improve the click. Even at max value I was noticing a tiny little click at the start of one particular track, \HVSC\MUSICIANS\S\Spider_Jerusalem\Freak_Out.sid, so I edited xmplay.ini and took the value up to 15000, then even 18000. The click was still there, BARELY audible, but then when I went back to other tracks such as Gerry_the_Druid (in the same folder) I realised that a millisecond or two of the track was now being cut off with those higher values. I went to 10240, max selectable in the sidEx dropdown, and it was better, no more cutoff, but click still there. IMPROVED though. With 10240 Hubbard's Lightforce.sid was still cut off, had to drop back to 5120 for that to sound good. So it's not one size fits all, but can definitely live with it for now.

As DrFiemost says, it MIGHT be fully fixable with a little volume ramp-up, and I think that's what Fraggie was doing in his plugin. "Attenuate power-on noise" might be his way of somehow intelligently analyzing the click at the start of playback and attempting to get rid of it with ramping or whatever. But this is getting niggly right now and I don't want to distract you from more important or fun fixes/additions with the plugin. I'm SUPER happy with it right now and was using it pretty much all yesterday. I can tell you that this right now is precisely what I've been looking for, if Fraggie had just updated his plugin with the latest libSidplay I would have been happy since there was pretty much nothing else that needed fixing in it. (I know others' mileage might vary there though)

Last quick question - I'm using an ollllllllld theme called Windows Classic 2, just because I'm OCD about padding and space wastage when it comes to the playlist and library list. To get to STIL information about a track I have to rightclick it and do Plugin File Info, which then pops up a window including STIL text. But if, while that window is on screen, I start playing a different track, the window contents don't update to match. I have to OK it then open Plugin File Info again. There's ten billion skins out there and I know you're a skin guru as well, so can you tell me if there's a skin or other way that I can have a window permanently on the screen which autorefreshes in realtime with the STIL info of the currently-playing track without needing to be manually closed and reopened?

Cheers
DRS

Keltic Danor

  • XMPlay Support
  • Posts: 810
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #40 on: 25 Jul '21 - 02:27 »
This version definitely does improve the click. Even at max value I was noticing a tiny little click at the start of one particular track, \HVSC\MUSICIANS\S\Spider_Jerusalem\Freak_Out.sid, so I edited xmplay.ini and took the value up to 15000, then even 18000. The click was still there, BARELY audible, but then when I went back to other tracks such as Gerry_the_Druid (in the same folder) I realised that a millisecond or two of the track was now being cut off with those higher values. I went to 10240, max selectable in the sidEx dropdown, and it was better, no more cutoff, but click still there. IMPROVED though. With 10240 Hubbard's Lightforce.sid was still cut off, had to drop back to 5120 for that to sound good. So it's not one size fits all, but can definitely live with it for now.

As DrFiemost says, it MIGHT be fully fixable with a little volume ramp-up, and I think that's what Fraggie was doing in his plugin. "Attenuate power-on noise" might be his way of somehow intelligently analyzing the click at the start of playback and attempting to get rid of it with ramping or whatever. But this is getting niggly right now and I don't want to distract you from more important or fun fixes/additions with the plugin. I'm SUPER happy with it right now and was using it pretty much all yesterday. I can tell you that this right now is precisely what I've been looking for, if Fraggie had just updated his plugin with the latest libSidplay I would have been happy since there was pretty much nothing else that needed fixing in it. (I know others' mileage might vary there though)
Yeah it was a bit rough, but interesting nonetheless, I'll leave it on the to do list and see what I/someone can come up with.

Last quick question - I'm using an ollllllllld theme called Windows Classic 2, just because I'm OCD about padding and space wastage when it comes to the playlist and library list. To get to STIL information about a track I have to rightclick it and do Plugin File Info, which then pops up a window including STIL text. But if, while that window is on screen, I start playing a different track, the window contents don't update to match. I have to OK it then open Plugin File Info again. There's ten billion skins out there and I know you're a skin guru as well, so can you tell me if there's a skin or other way that I can have a window permanently on the screen which autorefreshes in realtime with the STIL info of the currently-playing track without needing to be manually closed and reopened?
Oh the plugin file info is actually coming from the winamp plugin, but even if I put the STIL in the file info from XMPlay it is still song specific and won't change with the tracks. I'm afraid the only window that has the STIL info dynamic is the Message one.

So not sure, might need to ask the big cheese about that one.  :)

Keltic Danor

  • XMPlay Support
  • Posts: 810
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #41 on: 25 Jul '21 - 17:52 »
This one is mostly minor changes and a couple more options some crash fixes though so recommended, I don't think I've broken anything that I noticed.
« Last Edit: 29 Jul '21 - 06:03 by Keltic Danor »

Dhry

  • Posts: 100
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #42 on: 25 Jul '21 - 21:11 »
Nice work! Please reinclude the rudimental click removal cutoff feature from 7b though. I'll still be using that.

DRS

Edit: You're cracking me up. It's got so I have to come back here and refresh the thread to see if there are any updates to the plugin because you're editing your existing entry (which doesn't send us a notification that anything was updated). Might be an idea to edit the first post on the entire thread with the most current plugin info, and then perhaps post a new entry each time you update the plugin with the new details. Either that or happy to use Github if there's a way to subscribe to proactive new release notifications there?
« Last Edit: 26 Jul '21 - 23:47 by Dhry »

Dhry

  • Posts: 100
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #43 on: 27 Jul '21 - 18:23 »
Hey there. Github says 0.9 released, would love to get a copy of it but there are no compiled releases on the git page. Pls post :-)

DRS

Sebby75

  • Posts: 7
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #44 on: 27 Jul '21 - 20:59 »
Hey there. Github says 0.9 released, would love to get a copy of it but there are no compiled releases on the git page. Pls post :-) DRS

Give him some rest.. He is probably sleeping.. Different time zone...
He must be tired after a solid week of researching, messaging multiple people for help, coding, tweaking, learning this and that, then coding and tweaking some more.

This is already the best and most up to date sid input plugin for XMPlay... anything he adds from now on is just a bonus...

Regards
Sebby75

Dhry

  • Posts: 100
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #45 on: 27 Jul '21 - 21:16 »
Posts in forums aren't by definition supposed to require immediate action. He'll get to it when he feels like it.

FWIW I'm also Australian and well aware of the time zone.

DRS

Keltic Danor

  • XMPlay Support
  • Posts: 810
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #46 on: 28 Jul '21 - 06:16 »
Hey guys,

Don't worry will release v0.9 soon-ish, I've been trying out all sorts of things and not all of them particularly stable so I'm taking a minute to run it by Ian first before I accidentally release Shodan or something else nefarious.

Dhry

  • Posts: 100
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #47 on: 28 Jul '21 - 15:20 »
All good man, thank you!

DRS

Edit: Would love to know if there's an easy way of taking the source code and building the dll myself. I'm not a dev/programmer AT ALL and have never done that before so if it's easy to do on Windows, could be fun to try.
« Last Edit: 28 Jul '21 - 18:56 by Dhry »

Keltic Danor

  • XMPlay Support
  • Posts: 810
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #48 on: 29 Jul '21 - 06:05 »
And here we go, more cleaning up among other things.

Edit: Would love to know if there's an easy way of taking the source code and building the dll myself. I'm not a dev/programmer AT ALL and have never done that before so if it's easy to do on Windows, could be fun to try.
I probably do it the complicated way to be honest but it works for me so I hesitate to rock my boat. I didn't keep notes during the setup but it is basically MSYS2 to install all the relevant MingW packages and I use Apache Netbeans as my IDE with the C/C++ plugin installed. It's honestly probably an excessive investment in time/space/headaches just to build the plugin but if you still want to give it a crack them more power to you!

What's next?
I'm more or less happy with the plugin at this point, I'm going to make some tweaks and revisit the SIDid feature for v1.0 but otherwise we're more or less features by request at this point.

Recent patch notes
v0.9
- Lots of tidy ups of silly billy code by Ian :)
- Added a configurable fade-in option to try and hide clicks, Ian fancied it up to a... *googles spelling* logarithmic one. :o
- Lock sid model, lock clock speed & 8580 digi-boost now only applies on restart
- Main info sid model/clock speed display now gets details from the engine itself
- Stopping or seeking to the start of the file should work as expected
- Added disable seeking option
- Options fixed to disable fields appropriately to better show states

Wish list 8)
- Add SIDid identifying players

Downloads
xmp-sidex0.9.zip
xmp-sidex0.9source.zip
Support Site Entry

GitHub updated accordingly: https://github.com/KelticDanor/xmp-SIDex
« Last Edit: 29 Jul '21 - 06:20 by Keltic Danor »

Sebby75

  • Posts: 7
Re: Updated xmp-sid input plugin??? Where is Fraggie??
« Reply #49 on: 29 Jul '21 - 11:26 »
"[0.8c] All STIL entries read instead of sub song specific due to missing records  "

have you reverted this back in 0.9?
I really preferred how it worked in 0.8c showing full STIL info for all of the subsongs on one page...   
version 0.9 seem to have reverted it to previous behaviour where it only shows STIL info for currently playing subsong...

Regards
Sebby75