Author Topic: Bass.Net - Load Mod -> lower global volume > normalize -6DB > save to wav  (Read 90 times)

Wroah

I'm a C# programmer, but not really good at math and binary. I just found out about Bass, and I think I could accomplish what I want using Bass.net. However, I'm a bit clueless; how should I chain this together? Which api methods do I need?

Basically I want to do the following:

1. Open Module files in high quality (48000)
2. Lower volume (so that it won't peak directly)
3. Normalize to -6 DB
4. Save to 24bit 48000 wav file
5. Process it further (master it a little in an external program)

So I got step one (and step 2, maybe)

Code: [Select]
public static void PlayAMod()
{
   BassNet.Registration("x", "y");

var success = Bass.BASS_Init(-1, 44100, BASSInit.BASS_DEVICE_DEFAULT, IntPtr.Zero);
   var i = Bass.BASS_MusicLoad(@"C:\Users\Wroah\Desktop\X\E-ACDRMX.IT", 0, 0, BASSFlag.BASS_MUSIC_LOOP, 0);

Bass.BASS_ChannelPlay(i, false);
   Bass.BASS_SetVolume(.05f);

Console.ReadLine();
   Console.WriteLine(success);
}

I found out about the wavewriter, but don't know how to "feed" it

http://bass.radio42.com/help/html/50c9884f-89b0-5fc7-dc36-3b5d97543195.htm

Here is "Utils.GetNormalizationGain", a method I probably need:
http://bass.radio42.com/help/html/e208d868-733c-bc97-0950-d3c8cb266723.htm

And here some info about the normalization process, but I need to have the peak at -6db, and work with 24bit, not 16bit:
https://www.un4seen.com/forum/?topic=6466.0

I'd really appreciate some help. I get it if you don't want to spell it all out for me, but some hints at least would be nice, especially for the normalization part
« Last Edit: 4 Jun '21 - 20:50 by Wroah »

radio42

What does your step 3 mean "Normalize to -6 DB" - you are not talking about ReplayGain here, but a simple peak level normalization?