Author Topic: Pause Bug  (Read 7399 times)

RacerDuke

  • Posts: 4
Pause Bug
« on: 23 Jun '03 - 05:47 »
Okie dokie, it seems that other than the epileptic unsynchronized flickering of the pause icon and time counter ;), there's a wild little bug that I've been able to reproduce on more than one type of soundcard.

Here's the deal: after pausing Xmplay, then playing any type sound (windows sounds, other apps, etc.) while keeping Xmplay paused, there's a brief 'feedback'-like sound for a second. It sounds similar to touching the plug of powered-on pc speakers to metal, an electrical distortion if you will. Also, if you have another audio stream playing from a different app *before* you pause Xmplay, the feedback sound will stay on until you stop playback of audio.

I use Xmplay version 2.7 and my main system has an Audigy2 Platinum. Other sound devices that have exhibited this: Nvidia Soundstorm, and VIA integrated sound from a laptop. At first I thought it was my soundcard, but no other program had ever done this.

What's up with this? Ian?

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 20433
Re: Pause Bug
« Reply #1 on: 23 Jun '03 - 14:43 »
Do you have the output set to 24/32-bit? It sounds like the problem described in this thread...

http://un4seen.com/YaBB.cgi?board=xmplay&action=display&num=1053277928&start=30

It doesn't only affect XMPlay - it affects other programs too, but as most don't use 24/32-bit output, you probably won't notice it :)

Zarggg

  • Posts: 1242
Re: Pause Bug
« Reply #2 on: 23 Jun '03 - 15:21 »
While we're discussing bugs:  Ian, did you get my email from yesterday?

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 20433
Re: Pause Bug
« Reply #3 on: 23 Jun '03 - 22:58 »
Yep, I've replied now :)

blacknova

  • Posts: 5
Re: Pause Bug
« Reply #4 on: 11 Aug '03 - 02:30 »
Hi,

I have a few questions:  

1)  Is the workaround to run XMP at 16-bit instead of 24/32?

2)  How do you access the "Device" options panel now in v2.8?  In v2.6 you could L-click on the name of the panel and it would cycle through all of them (ie: "Associations", "Output Options", etc.)

3)  And this is probably my biggest problem but v2.8 crashes as soon as I load it up! :(  

Ian?

Thanks in advance,
-Brian

Tsorovan

  • Posts: 1247
Re: Pause Bug
« Reply #5 on: 11 Aug '03 - 02:31 »
1) Yes.
2) F9
3) Sounds like a malicious plugin/vis.

blacknova

  • Posts: 5
Re: Pause Bug
« Reply #6 on: 11 Aug '03 - 02:36 »
3)  I'm not running any plug-ins/visualizations.  This is a fresh copy :(

Olego

  • Posts: 557
Bug
« Reply #7 on: 11 Aug '03 - 09:55 »
Quote

This is a fresh copy :(
I had the same--for some reason, XMPlay started dying on me.  I deleted it from the registry.  To fix, run Regedit, find HKCU\Software\Un4Seen Developments, and delete the XMPlay key. You'll lose a few settings, but you might get the player back. :)~Olego~
« Last Edit: 11 Aug '03 - 09:56 by Olego »

blacknova

  • Posts: 5
Re: Pause Bug
« Reply #8 on: 12 Aug '03 - 04:33 »
Still crashes :(

This is really depressing, because XMP is the only player that seems to play 90% of the music in my collection correctly... and now with v2.8, it just crashes on startup  :'(

Irrational86

  • Posts: 960
Re: Pause Bug
« Reply #9 on: 12 Aug '03 - 06:34 »
Post here the crash addresses and msg, everything (if possible)

blacknova

  • Posts: 5
Re: Pause Bug
« Reply #10 on: 12 Aug '03 - 13:55 »
After I deleted the registry key, it doesn't generate one anymore.  It just loads up and then disappears.  It appears to still be trying to load up my music directory for some reason though (I don't know where it's getting that information from though, are there any other configuration files I've missed?).  It seems like it may be a invalid module or so, but even if it was, it shouldn't quit like it does.

Rah'Dick

  • XMPlay Support
  • Posts: 932
Re: Pause Bug
« Reply #11 on: 12 Aug '03 - 14:53 »
Try removing ALL your input plugins if you have some...

Tsorovan

  • Posts: 1247
Re: Pause Bug
« Reply #12 on: 12 Aug '03 - 18:06 »
Long shot, but delete xmplay.pls also. Maybe there's a track there that's corrupted or something and makes the track verifier crash (as I said, doubtful, but can't hurt trying).

Ralesk

  • Posts: 654
Re: Pause Bug
« Reply #13 on: 12 Aug '03 - 19:48 »
My XMPlay -- slow computer here -- used to crash on some of these automatic validation things.  Like when I added a bunch of tracks, and it started checking their length and such.  the two tasks didn't go well side by side and kept sending XMPlay to hell, so I had to add smaller file lists.  There were no wrong settings, no bad files, no bad plugins.
It turned better when Ian gave me a version that had the automatic title check disabled (only timecheck), all three together (adding, lengthchecking, titlechecking) was prone to crash XMPlay.