Author Topic: Some v2.7 bugs and comments  (Read 26741 times)

Tsorovan

  • Posts: 1247
Re: Some v2.7 bugs and comments
« Reply #25 on: 4 Jun '03 - 11:39 »
Wow, the brain-rending BZZZZ thing...I also thought it was my soundcard's fault, as I had to fiddle around with different drivers.

It doesn't exactly sound like a healthy BZZZZ either. I thank you for figuring out what caused it.

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 20427
Re: Some v2.7 bugs and comments
« Reply #26 on: 4 Jun '03 - 13:20 »
hmm... I'm unable to reproduce this "bzzz" thing here, on Win98 or XP. This is what I tried: I paused XMPlay, and then made one of the Windows sounds play (I tried opening a dialog and also navigating in Explorer), but the sounds played correctly. Should that have produced the problem?

What Soundcard/Windows are you all using? Also, can you reproduce the problem with Winamp? (using the Waveout output)

Kynes/BG, I'll look into that vis stuff.

Pike84

  • Posts: 1398
Re: Some v2.7 bugs and comments
« Reply #27 on: 4 Jun '03 - 15:20 »
I'm using WinXP and SoundMAX integrated audio. I haven't had any other problems with my sounds on this system.

I get the sound at least, when I click on a folder in the directory tree. That normally produces a nice *click*, but it's the *bzzz*, if XMPlay was just paused before that. I can hear the normal click behind the buzz, if I listen carefully, tho.
« Last Edit: 4 Jun '03 - 15:26 by Pike84 »

Tsorovan

  • Posts: 1247
Re: Some v2.7 bugs and comments
« Reply #28 on: 4 Jun '03 - 15:37 »
I'm the chap with an M-Audio Delta Audiophile 2496. WinXP SP1. Negative on the Winamp reproducability.

WingZero

  • Posts: 167
Re: Some v2.7 bugs and comments
« Reply #29 on: 4 Jun '03 - 18:52 »
This only seems to happen with system sounds. If I start Windows Media Player, or something using BASS, there is no problem. If I try to play a system sound, from the control panel applet, I get a buzz. This only happens for the first sound after pausing XMPlay output. I have a C-Media CMI-8738 PCI, on Windows XP.

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 20427
Re: Some v2.7 bugs and comments
« Reply #30 on: 5 Jun '03 - 21:04 »
Ah yes, now I can reproduce it on WinXP. I think it's a Windows/driver issue, as it does happen with Winamp too. The reason you may not have noticed it with Winamp is that it seems to only happens when you set the output to 24 or 32-bit, so you would have to use the MAD plugin to get it to happen.

I wasn't able to reproduce it on Win98 or 2K (though there is a small piece of the paused sound on 2K, but that's a known Win2K thing ;)) ... so it appears to be an XP problem. Are all of you with the "buzzing" using WinXP and 24/32-bit output?

Note, for those with a 16-bit soundcard, there's no real benefit in setting the output to 24/32-bit anyway :)

Pike84

  • Posts: 1398
Re: Some v2.7 bugs and comments
« Reply #31 on: 5 Jun '03 - 22:11 »
I was/am using 32 bit output. As you said, it happens only with 24/32.

WingZero

  • Posts: 167
Re: Some v2.7 bugs and comments
« Reply #32 on: 5 Jun '03 - 23:03 »
Yea, it is 32-bit... on Windows XP too.

Tsorovan

  • Posts: 1247
Re: Some v2.7 bugs and comments
« Reply #33 on: 6 Jun '03 - 05:23 »
XP/24

Lyle

  • Posts: 35
Re: Some v2.7 bugs and comments
« Reply #34 on: 16 Jul '03 - 13:40 »

Quote



Sorry for being a bit late with this suggestion, but here goes:

I think the resizing of a vis should work just like before 2.7, but with a manual option to change the resolution.
snip
[edit]Comments, anyone?

I like it  :)

Rah'Dick

  • XMPlay Support
  • Posts: 932
Re: Some v2.7 bugs and comments
« Reply #35 on: 17 Jul '03 - 03:15 »
I've got a suggestion.

Currently, the resizing border of the info window has the same width as the thickest right/bottom/left border bitmap... Or at least it seems like this. (Too lazy to look at the documentation ATM.)

Well, I'd like to have either an additional variable in the config file which defines the sizing border width/height OR just a fixed width/height for all skins. (Would be much easier to implement afterwards, of course.)

The issue is that I barely can drag my info window around when I have very thick borders (like on X-RD2506), it's very much irritating if you hover over the title area of a window and get a "vertical sizing" cursor instead of being able to drag the win....
...Just my opinion.
By the way... I'm back from vacation, hi to everyone :)

[EDIT]
/me looks at xmplay.exe build that he got from Ralesk

Uhm, seems fixed already ^_^
Well, haven't been here for three weeks, may have missed a discussion about it, haven't I?  :laugh:
[/EDIT]
« Last Edit: 17 Jul '03 - 03:17 by RahDick »

Ian @ un4seen

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 20427
Re: Some v2.7 bugs and comments
« Reply #36 on: 17 Jul '03 - 11:55 »
That skin config option (pos_infoframe) has actually been there since v2.5 :)

ps: I also added it to the X-RD2506 config before compiling ;D

Rah'Dick

  • XMPlay Support
  • Posts: 932
Re: Some v2.7 bugs and comments
« Reply #37 on: 17 Jul '03 - 15:58 »
*D'OH!*

Why didn't tell me someone! :laugh: