Author Topic: ASIO2 driver  (Read 11152 times)

ZHUR

ASIO2 driver
« on: 22 Oct '05 - 23:25 »
Big respect to all UnSeen Developments team!!! Thank You for your XM-Player! I use it in my project recording studio when we chilling out. Can you make this player to use professional ASIO driver for playback?! I think You know thai it will improve quality of the sound.

Rah'Dick

• XMPlay Support
Re: ASIO2 driver
« Reply #1 on: 23 Oct '05 - 00:25 »
I'm not a XMPlay developer, but I'm sure, Ian will be glad to hear your comment :-)

Regarding ASIO: we have discussed the matter a number of times already... ASIO doesn't improve sound quality - it only decreases latency and offers some interfaces for advanced recording.
http://www.soundblaster.com/resources/read.asp?articleid=53937&cat=2

ZHUR

« Reply #2 on: 23 Oct '05 - 06:56 »
You must have normal monitoring gear, and professional device which supports asio to hear the difference.  I tested it by myself many times. Using multimedia sound cards and speakers, even on mid class hi-end the difference is not visible. I already said that i'm talking about difference when listening in studio. It's all in latencies. When you listen with zero latency the sound is more natural.

Jace

« Reply #3 on: 23 Oct '05 - 07:35 »
Placebo. ;D Where would we be without it?
For some reason I believe it's only a VERY small percentage of XMPlay users who listen to their (very often lossy!) audio files in a studio.

And when recording, I know it can be very disturbing if it has a large delay. But when listening, the latency shouldn't matter at all. You will hear exactly the same audio, just a dozen or few milliseconds later. The latency will be there, but it won't have a reference point to compare it to, so unless you've been enjoying illegal goods, you shouldn't notice the difference. ;D

Dotpitch

« Reply #4 on: 23 Oct '05 - 08:52 »