Author Topic: Looking to encode with Vorbis  (Read 7666 times)

Grindill

Looking to encode with Vorbis
« on: 30 Sep '06 - 23:23 »
I'm completely new to Vorbis here, so bear with me...

I downloaded a simple drag-and-drop utility for encoding with Vorbis called oggdropXPd. Well, being used to encoding MP3 files with LAME, I figured that managing bitrates was generally a similar process. However, regardless of how strict I specify oggdrop to be with bitrate quality, it continues to apply an alternating bitrate to every file. Is there simply no way to specify a strict, solid, unchanging rate like with LAME?

Also, can anyone recommend how I should adjust these settings for optimal quality? Is there any sort of standard setting used by most people? I would hate to over-bloat all my files when it's not going to make any real difference in the first place.

Thanks for any advice.

Jace

Re: Looking to encode with Vorbis
« Reply #1 on: 1 Oct '06 - 07:15 »
Cannot say that I'm a pro with these things, to be honest.
But at least in oggdropXPd you can choose the 'CBR' option. While encoding, I noticed it reported that the kbps did fluctuate very slightly, but well within 1kbps range. =)

Normally I encode my Oggs with standard quality mode (VBR) at -q7 (~224kbps). It's been good enough for me and hasn't caused harddiskspace-panics. ;D
(Actually any Ogg-encoding I do is done by CDex... The rare times I need to encode a wav, oggdrop it is.)

Sebastian_Mares

« Reply #2 on: 1 Oct '06 - 07:45 »
Vorbis does not support CBR encoding since it's a VBR encoder only. Personally, I recommend using 4.25 quality since it's transparent for most files and most people.

Grindill

« Reply #3 on: 1 Oct '06 - 15:47 »